Would not turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2010, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Would not turn on

My other computer would not turn on at all.

If I reset power supply and try to turn on again, the CPU fan moves a little bit, maybe 1cm and then come back to initial condition (without computer turning on).

What can I do to fix this?

I know this is not PSU, I tried another one, same thing happened.

I tried to reset everything.

--

I also tried to run it with only 1 stick of ram and CPU.
Same thing
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Would not turn on

^ what do you mean you tried to run it with only one cpu? (are you running a skul lsetup or something lol)

Have you tried resetting the cmos?
Try taking out all the parts except the cpu and heatsink (obviously leave the psu in there)...could be one of those parts shorting out the mobo.

Try doing a bench test after that (running the computer outside the case on a non conductive service (wood, carboard, etc)
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Re: Would not turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
Try taking out all the parts except the cpu and heatsink (obviously leave the psu in there)...could be one of those parts shorting out the mobo.
thats what I did when I said 1 stick of ram and CPU. I have the case open now.

even without memory. still, would not turn on.
Kdar is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 03:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Would not turn on

ohhh, i thought you meant you took out all the ram except one stick, then took out all but one cpu lol.

Well cmos and bench test mate.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 04:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Would not turn on

Run Memtest on the RAM.

Have you done anything different to the computer - upgraded hardware, anything? Reset the CMOS battery to see if that fixes it.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 12:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Would not turn on

^in my experience bad ram wont not let your computer post.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Would not turn on

Sounds like it could also be the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Toshiba NB205 won't turn on wachtn Laptops and Notebooks 6 11-25-2009 10:05 PM
Turn Off Computer Hardware With A Single Click Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-30-2009 12:35 PM
Help me turn my computer on pengyou Microsoft Windows and Software 15 01-11-2009 09:59 PM
computer wont turn on NewCents05 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-08-2008 11:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.