Worst RAM location ever!!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2011, 01:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Saanich, BC
Posts: 13
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Bad bad wire management! I think HP does better than that!
__________________

saanichtechie is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 01:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

A lot of the wires in your way look like those from the front panel (USB, headset, etc). You may be able to bend those out of the way. The plugs for the hard drive and media bay can be unplugged and moved aside. Once you get that all done it should be a lot easier to get into the RAM slots.

If you are going to upgrade the graphics card then you will probably need to upgrade your PSU to feed it. If you do then you can install the RAM at the same time you are swapping out the PSU and have all of its wire out of the way as well.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 04:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

I went with a low power graphics card, the Radeon HD 5670. My PSU can handle it, so no need to swap that out.

As soon as the RAM arrives I'll sit down and take another gander inside, perhaps with a scissors to cut the plastic bind that holds all the wires together in that unholy bulge. Set some time aside and clean the place up a bit.

I've been amazed with the response to this thread. I didn't think I'd get so much help so quick!
Funk Mama is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

If that model HP is like the HP I had a few years back, the drive bay is modular and the whole thing can be removed as a unit. If you remove the front panel it's possible that there are a couple of screws holding it in place and the whole thing will slide out. Of course you'll need to detach the cables first.

I believe this link has the instructions you require (scroll down to the middle of the page):
Replace Hard drive There's even a video to show you how.
strollin is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 05:16 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Now that is super helpful! That should give me unrestricted access to the RAM... as long as I'm careful about it. It doesn't look that difficult to do either.

But never fear, I will find some way to mess it up!
Funk Mama is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 12:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

U can obviously remove that hard drive cage with a screwdriver. Also, it wouldn't hurt to maybe take all the dust out and zip tie the wires to make it SOMEWHAT nice looking. After that, keep your RAM slots open for when you want to upgrade in the future ; )
Jdimstr333 is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 09:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Update for those interested.

Got the RAM in, it wasn't THAT hard (read: Required a hammer, several hours and much swearing).

The Graphics Card was a lot easier (read: Did not need the hammer or the several hours, but the swearing was still required).

And then I booted it up and everything is working fine (read: Hasn't blown up in my face... yet).

Thanks for all your help!!! (read: Thanks for all your help!!!)
Funk Mama is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 09:33 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Why the heck would you need a hammer?! Unless you mean that as aggravation.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-14-2011, 10:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Congrats on your successful upgrade!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-15-2011, 08:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 632
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Did you have problems removing the drive bay? It looked pretty easy from the video I posted the link to.
__________________

strollin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's got the worst computer ? bonehelm Off Topic Discussion 43 09-29-2006 04:09 AM
Whats the worst ever. Ste Viruses, Spyware and Malware 8 11-15-2005 08:56 PM
Worst Movie Ever Him Off Topic Discussion 46 05-13-2005 08:56 AM
Best of the worst? BlackmanOne Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 03-14-2004 05:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.