Worst RAM location ever!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2011, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Worst RAM location ever!!!

After searching online and finding all these wonderful RAM installation tutorials, I thought it would be nice and easy to buy me some RAM and stick in into my motherboard.

But I was not prepared for the horrors that awaited me.

This is where my RAM slots are...



Can't see? Having trouble spying them? Let me zoom it in for you!



Whoever designed my computer obviously hates me D:

Any tips as to how I'm gonna install this new RAM? You know, without tearing the thing apart to get to the slots? Computer is a HP m8170.uk.

Funk Mama out!
__________________

Funk Mama is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 08:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

First clean up those wires...

That is the usual positioning of the RAM slots, you know. It's just your case that is the problem
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-10-2011, 09:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Ok, how would I go about cleaning up the wires? Those images are taken with nothing changed or removed inside the case, and I don't particularly feel comfortable doing too much fiddling in there.

What would be the easiest path for me to get to the RAM slots? I'm thinking remove the "HP Media Drive" slot thats directly above them... but I'm not sure if it IS removable, and I'd rather avoid that if possible.

Suggestions?
Funk Mama is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Honestly there's not much you could do with the wires.. You could try to cram anything you're not using into the empty drive bay there. Other than that I can't think of much
And yeah, that's fairly common with prebuilt computers. I've had three exactly like that. Then I started building my own computers.. The one I have now is my third custom one thumbsup: Never going back
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Usually those hdd cases have one screw you remove before you can slide out the whole thing, doesn't look like you're that lucky tho
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

The horrors D:

Is this just a situation where I slowly but surely try to find a way to angle myself to get the RAM in?

This is gonna be fun :P
Funk Mama is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 03:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Just go at it slow, most of us would remove things. If you have a camera, some scotch tape, and a sharpie, label things, and take pictures if your worried about forgetting something. I work on cars for the most part (current engine has **** near 400 parts o.0), and I lost a set of bolts, forgot what they looked like. The pictures I took saved my life after reviewing them.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

If you dont want to move all the wires I think you could get at the slots easier by removing your graphics card. In the picture you can see how that is blocking access from the bottom where you may be able to slide them up and in. But like everyone else said, the wires need to be cleaned up anyway so now you have a good excuse.
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

Removing you PSU should give you ample access to that. Just remove the 4 screws harnessing it, and move it away from the RAM slots.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Worst RAM location ever!!!

You are all so helpful! I intend to upgrade the graphics card anyway, and have both the RAM and card ordered. So I REALLY do have an excuse to clean up those wires :P

And I might of misunderstood you MindoverMaster, but the big grey metal thing directly above the RAM blocking access is a Hard Drive Bay, not a PSU. The PSU is in the top left of the first image and isn't blocking anything.

But at least that means it would probably be easier to remove if necessary!
__________________

Funk Mama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who's got the worst computer ? bonehelm Off Topic Discussion 43 09-29-2006 04:09 AM
Whats the worst ever. Ste Viruses, Spyware and Malware 8 11-15-2005 08:56 PM
Worst Movie Ever Him Off Topic Discussion 46 05-13-2005 08:56 AM
Best of the worst? BlackmanOne Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 03-14-2004 05:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.