Wont recognize drive C:\ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2005, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default Wont recognize drive C:\

Im working on a HP computer hard drive went bad replaced it and reisntalled windows but when i was creatign partition it was creating drive I: which is weird considering i formatted the drive brand new nothign was in it, continued isntall see what would happen and drive c: d: e: f: g: h: are recognized as removable drives but i have non attached and drive c: is really drive i: im stopping now cause im confusing myself lol ne ways how can i make all the drives come together and make normal drive c:
__________________

__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

So when you deleted partition and created a new one, It defaulted to the "I" ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

no when i installed the new harddrive there was only 1 unpartioned spot and along lsit of removeable drives, so i partitiond the drive and installed windows well it installed on drive I: and drive c-h are removable for somereason
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I would start over If that were me.
Also make sure you have your HDD on the primary cable.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

ill try it and post results
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to fuzzyjit
Default

Do you have one of those all in one media card readers? If you do thats most likely whats causing all the removable drives to be created. I would also double check the jumpers on teh hd and make sure it is master. Do you have any other hds in this computer?
fuzzyjit is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 07:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

hey yea it was all the memory stick readers i thoguht of that earlier and i reformatted it again and it became drive c: so the problem was fixed thx for allthe help guys
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 08:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

sweet !
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.