Won't detect full HDD size + No audio - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2010, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Default Won't detect full HDD size + No audio

Hey guys.

As the title says, my newly built system won't detect the full HDD size. My HDD is 500GB SATA2 from... I forgot. Anyways, it only detects 127GB. The blue screen when you do the OS installation says 127xxxMB unpartitioned space. Even after the OS installation it still says 127GB. I'm pretty sure I did the cable work correctly. Does anyone know what might be causing it?

Now here's the second problem... I have no sound. No audio hardware is installed even though I installed everything that came in the mobo CD.

My system is:
Antec 300
Corsair TX650
Asus M4A77TD PRO
Phenom II x4 945
XFX HD4890
Corsair 1333MHz DDR3 XMS3
*** 500GB SATA2 7200RPM HDD
Some DVD burner.

I'm pretty sure the mobo has onboard audio(card) because the box says 7.1 ch audio and there is the audio panel backside.

If anybody could help me I'd be thankful.
__________________

Zacki is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Won't detect full HDD size + No audio

for hd you need to install winxp service pack 2. sp3 is the current one so you might as well update to that while you are at it.

grab you xp audio drivers here:
ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Hey and thanks for your answer.

I tried downloading the audio thing, the new version. Downloaded and tried installing but got this message: "We can't find HD audio device" Then the installation just quit.

Here's a SS: http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/5784/21165444.png

Sorry for doublepost but I can't edit yet cause the last post isn't approved yet. When I first turned on the system I went to the blue screen thing with DEL, but didn't really do much apart from the time settings... Is anything else needed?

EDIT: (approve my last post? :P Contains a link to an imageshack image.)
Zacki is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Won't detect full HDD size + No audio

check bios to see if onboard audio has been disabled.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Default

I just did it, it said something like HD audio controller enabled. I'll show you pics of it very soon, just waiting for my SP2 installation to finish.

Everything solved. Just upgraded to Win7 and it detected the 500GB HDD and the audio has no problem at all. Thank you very much anyway for the quick and great support. This is my favorite "tech site" :P
Zacki is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Won't detect full HDD size + No audio

Well that is the easy (and smart) way out. Now put xp back on and lets get in working.

Win7 is vastly superior. Nice call.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 07:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Default Re: Won't detect full HDD size + No audio

I had something happen like that to me on my gigabyte mobo on Windows 7. You could possibly try the install cd again and if that doesn't work you could get drivers from online. I had to do that for a couple things like my gtx 285.

Sometimes the cd's aren't compatible with the newest. Especially Windows 7.
__________________

Jdimstr333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista Downgrade - Audio Issue pcaro Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-15-2009 11:11 AM
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.