Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2009, 10:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

I have been following this thread and others as I have a similar issue. I have tried all the suggestions and even a known working PSU. The mobo LED comes on, but nothing else does. This is a friend's machine and she says lightning hit it. My guess is the mobo is toast. Sorry to sorta jack your thread.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Have a look at my > No POST Guide
__________________

kimsland is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Already did before I posted.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 11:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

I just removed the lone RAM module - boots up exactly like before: with single immidiete beep, dvd drive reading light, floppy disk drive reading sound, working num lock on keyboard, but no signal.

Removed the fan and tried again - this time it actually started, but jus like without any RAM (or with RAM for that matter).

Re-checked all the connections. Most are pretty difficult to remove and put back in, and more to the point were never touched until this happened. Admittedly, the Case Fan connector is a bit wobbly though, but it seems to be making all the right sounds and lights when starting up. Hmm....
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

If you have tried another Power Supply
Oh, and also disconnected all externals (even keyboard and mouse)
You have tried Benchtesting with all internals unplugged (note: it does need at least 1 working ram module)
Then, yes it looks like motherboard issue
kimsland is offline  
Old 10-16-2009, 12:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Well Ill buy a cheap new PSU and let you know how that develops.
Thanks for all the help so far!
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 11:46 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Sit Rep. : Bought new PSU. Fitted it. Tried again: no improvement.

So it must be the motherboard, right?
Selidor is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 12:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

I'd say.. dont tell your folks... switch psus, and save money
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 03:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

Haha its ok, I think my folks can take the £13 hit!
Though I think I will go back to using the old Hiper psu - its quieter, rated for 80 more watts, twice as heavy, and was 5 times the cost!

Right the next step is to replace the motherboard I guess, I still have a 2.4Ghz P4 that I never fitted due to this little issue - so Im gonna go for an old 478 socket mobo from the bay. Will let you know how that turns out...
Selidor is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 04:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Wont Boot up - Did i fry the mobo?

...badly, thats how it turned out.
Badly In the sense that theres still no improvement

Just to re-iterate my problem: Computer powers up with working fans, DVD-ROM, Keyboard and Mouse, but screen stays blank (my tv actually states "no signal"). Makes a solitary "beep" as soon as powerd on. I know TV and VGA cable work because of testing with my laptop, and used to work before with this computer until i cleared out some dust.So I changed the motherboad (Intel 845GV to a IBM branded intel 845G)- no video, as well as:

new cpu ( P4 2.4Ghz) - no video,
added a graphics card (Geforce Ti4600) - no video,
new RAM module (Kingston DDR 333) - no video

all in addition to the new PSU I fitted. So despite the only original parts remaining being the HDD and DVDROM, I still have the same issue....am I cursed?

EDIT: checked out the Ti4600's S-video output. Using the supplied adapter, connected it via composite video, which produced a black flickering image. Tried it on an old CRT tv, and it produced a black, flickery image with two horizontal white lines in the middle in a 2.35 ratio - like a widescreen movie on a fullscreen set, only without the actual movie :P Is this indicative of anything?
__________________

Selidor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
Vista won't boot without CD tigerfootball05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-09-2009 08:42 PM
Darik Boot Failed DummyTron Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2008 10:25 PM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.