Won't boot up at all - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2007, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Send a message via MSN to f_lightning2001
Question Won't boot up at all

Ok I have two different desktops. One is a Gateway and the other is an EMachines. I thought that the power supply went out in the Gateway. Then I started having problems with the EMachines. My Master Boot Record was messed up so I bought another HDD. When trying to boot from my windows cd, I get this messagethe following is on the EMachines)
NVIDIA Boot Agent
PXE-M0F
Media Test Failure,Check Cable
Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk And Press Enter

WTF does that mean?
So I swaped out power supplies.
Now when I go to boot up the Gateway the power light comes on and that's it. I am at a total stand still.

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.



Also there is not a floppy drive so making a bootable floppy is out of the question.

CMOS Settings is:
Boot CD
Boot HDD
Boot USB
NVIDIA Boot Agent
__________________

f_lightning2001 is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Won't boot up at all

is your bios settings correct? it might be that the boot sequence is wrong. you might have boot from lan option enabled. try the booting sequence to this order.

1.CD-ROM drive
2.Hard disk
3.none/disabled or maybe floppy but usually if that's the order it should boot up correctly.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: Won't boot up at all

sent you a PM
Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Takes 3/4 to about an hour to boot into windows (new hardware) Losluchadores Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-11-2007 02:23 AM
Question about setting up a tri boot /w a raid. kiyotaka Linux and Open Source 2 07-13-2007 03:28 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.