Won't Boot Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2009, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Won't Boot Up

Hello,

Fixing a desktop. Windows XP. I have the original Windows XP disk.

During startup, recognizes the graphics card, then bios, then go to the screen that says that windows did not shut down properly, but doesnt let me select anything except "Start windows normally", then goes to find the CD (with the Windows XP in it), but doesnt recognize it and starts all over again.

I changed the bios to only recognize the CD, but still does the same thing.

I just want to reinstall XP on the HD.

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default Re: Won't Boot Up

Aw geez I shoulda read this thread, this is EXACTLY my problem too!
Except I have a core 2 duo and a windows 7 install.
__________________

madcat75 is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 06:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Won't Boot Up

Hi,

So none of you see the: 'Press any key to boot from CD...' message just after the POST sequence?

Some BIOSes have a 'enable/disable boot from CD' option as well as a 'boot order' option. Check your BIOS for both these options, and make sure that they are set appropriately.

Also, most BIOSes allow you to list and choose a boot device 'on the fly' during the POST sequence, by pressing a specific key. The key is usually shown at the bottom of the screen when you first turn on your computer. If this option is available to you, try booting into your optical drive using this method.

The only other thing to try that I can think of is to reset your BIOS, re-set the boot order & enable booting into CD, then try booting into the Windows 7 setup disc again.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default Re: Won't Boot Up

No I am not seeing "press any key to boot from CD" where as using the same XP CD, I see the message on my old P4 2 ghz. I went to boot order, made sure CD-ROM was first in order. What about hitting F12 during bootup?
madcat75 is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default Re: Won't Boot Up

OK, these are my troubleshooting steps:

1. 1st computer: Reset the bios by the jumper method and took out the 3V battery, still was stuck in a boot loop.

2. Took out the hard drive from the 1st computer which would not boot up and put into my other desktop which I know works fine (Mobo, ram, etc). The hard drive from the 1st computer worked fine in my other desktop and the "start windows normally screen" went away, so I think it could be the following problems:

- Faulty power supply, it's only 430W and its over 4 yrs old, plus it is running a core 2 duo, graphics card, looks like a tv tuner also.

- RAM, but the bios said the RAM looked fine.

- Mobo...but not sure how to check this.

Any suggestions? Thanks.
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 11-07-2009, 07:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 216
Default Re: Won't Boot Up

Got my problem solved, the CD drive was not hooked up to the motherboard LOL. Weird, thought I checked that. Anyways now the keyboard and mouse won't turn on in windows XP... wtf? They turn on during boot sequence though before the win XP loading screen.
__________________

madcat75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new motherboard - 'reboot/select proper boot device/insert boot media' prob raykwok Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 09-27-2009 03:25 AM
Vista won't boot without CD tigerfootball05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-09-2009 08:42 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.