Won't boot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2009, 08:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Won't boot?

Alright...

Recently, I've installed a new hard drive and a new CPU heatsink for my brother's computer. After we installed the heatsink(1 or 2 months ago) the computer worked fine for about a week, and after that the computer wouldn't start. We figured it was the hard drive because it was making a knocking sound, so we bought a new one and installed it. Last night while installing windows everything went fine, this morning when we booted it up everything went fine as well. However, this evening the computer won't boot windows. Usually a large silver "e" shows up on the monitor as the computer boots, but it hasn't been and the monitor gets no signal. The motherboard is getting power, and the CPU fan is spinning(The optical drives work as well). However, Windows won't boot.

I tried looking at the procedures thread, but I'm not exactly a computer genius. I tried following the steps in this post: (click) But to no avail.

Someone, please help!
__________________

xGodlyPoison is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Won't boot?

Maybe the CPU is running hot ? What kind of fan did you buy ? Did you apply thermal paste ?
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Won't boot?

This might be somewhat of a long shot but I've had a few experiences when everything has installed fine and then suddenly won't work the next day. Each time it's been the RAM, either incompatible in the first place or has gone bad at some point. I suggest you swap out the sticks and possibly run Memtest on them using another PC if you can't get this one to post.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Re: Won't boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Maybe the CPU is running hot ? What kind of fan did you buy ? Did you apply thermal paste ?
Brand new heatsink and fan. Newegg.com - Rosewill RCX-Z2 7 blades 80mm reverse ball bearing fan CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Applied copious amounts of Arctic Silver 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorsoft View Post
This might be somewhat of a long shot but I've had a few experiences when everything has installed fine and then suddenly won't work the next day. Each time it's been the RAM, either incompatible in the first place or has gone bad at some point. I suggest you swap out the sticks and possibly run Memtest on them using another PC if you can't get this one to post.
I don't have another PC that I can open up and test the ram with, so thats gone... I'll try another stick I have lying around and try cycling the ram again.
xGodlyPoison is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Won't boot?

Just because a few fans spin up and the optical drives light up, it doesn't mean the power supply is good.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 10:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Re: Won't boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Just because a few fans spin up and the optical drives light up, it doesn't mean the power supply is good.
So I should look into the power supply? I mean, its a 4 year old computer and both of those parts(CPU Heatsink and fan + HDD) were due for replacement so the next thing to get replaced should be the Power supply? I never even thought about that, I'll look into it though.

Are there any sort of tests to see if it is indeed the power supply and not something else? I certainly hope its not the motherboard because we replaced it about 2 years ago when it got fried in a storm.
xGodlyPoison is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 10:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Won't boot?

If your careful and experienced you can test all the voltages with a multimeter. But I don't recommend it. Plus, once the power supply is put under a load all the values can change. Right now I'd bet money on either the Power Supply or the Mobo. It could be either, I'd try a new Power Supply 1st.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Re: Won't boot?

Alright, thanks for the help!

Now to find a compatible power supply... Would someone be kind enough to suggest one that isn't very pricey? Preferably below $60
xGodlyPoison is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Won't boot?

What size power supply are you using now (in watts). What are your system spec's? How many Hard Drives, what kind of Video card do you have, CPU model, etc...
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York(I can see Canada from here!)
Posts: 30
Default Re: Won't boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
What size power supply are you using now (in watts). What are your system spec's? How many Hard Drives, what kind of Video card do you have, CPU model, etc...
400 watts, 1.5GB of ram, 1 HDD(250 GB), nVidia GeForce 7 series(7300 maybe? Got it from a friend), and according to HERE a Pentium D 805 CPU Dual-core
__________________

xGodlyPoison is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new motherboard - 'reboot/select proper boot device/insert boot media' prob raykwok Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 09-27-2009 03:25 AM
Vista won't boot without CD tigerfootball05 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-09-2009 08:42 PM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.