Wirless network security - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2005, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Unhappy Wirless network security

Well I bought a Linksys wireless routher, and wireless PCI card, yesterday. And well it was fine last night, all games were working fine. but when I woke up this morning, the computer is recieving extreme lage. I never had lag like this before with direct cat-5 connect. And when I actually used my connection last night it was pretty late. So what I'm thinking is, maybe somone or someone(s) else in my nehiborhood is using a wireless router and PCI cards; so maybe thats why its giving me lag.

But my question is, how do is setup my wireless router to have like a password to connect or something. Just so I can block other people from using my connection? Please help, the lag on WoW is ****ing tedious.
__________________

BobBO is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You can use MAC filtering for each port, enable WPA or WEP which ever one your router has. Disable DHCP on the router and assign the ip address yourself on your computer.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

go to your configuration page at http://192.168.0.1

Enable WEP in your settings page
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 12:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Default

Also, you need to disable SSID!!!!!!!
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=197\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" title=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/products/firefox/upgrade_1_5_125x125r.jpg\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=180\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_large.png\"/></a>
Antec Lanboy
Intel 925XCV
Intel P4 2.8Ghz
1024 Crucial DDR2 4200
Seagate 160GB
Seagate 250GB
ThermalRight XP-90C
Dual Boot with Windows XP Professional and Ubuntu Linux
sjpritch25 is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 02:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

isn't it disable SSID broadcasting?
yes, enable WEP (you'll need to put the WEP key in any computer with a wireless card too)

and, like suggested, MAC filtering too. if someone is trying to connect, they'll have to spoof a MAC address (they cannot change their real one, and they'll also have to FIND OUT what your's is) to get in, and they'll have to break your encryption (that can take literally hundreds of years, depending on how many bits it is)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 02:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Default

Yes that is what i meant disable SSID broadcasting.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=197\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" title=\"Upgrade to Firefox 1.5!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/products/firefox/upgrade_1_5_125x125r.jpg\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&id=0&t=180\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_large.png\"/></a>
Antec Lanboy
Intel 925XCV
Intel P4 2.8Ghz
1024 Crucial DDR2 4200
Seagate 160GB
Seagate 250GB
ThermalRight XP-90C
Dual Boot with Windows XP Professional and Ubuntu Linux
sjpritch25 is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 03:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

Yea...a MAC filter should keep them out. You can also view your DHCP log and see if anyone else has connected to your router.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.