Wireless router won't go wireless - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default Wireless router won't go wireless

I recently moved into a new apartment and try to use my wireless router. It doesn't work at my new apartment but worked fine in my old apartment. The wireless light is on but doesn't blink with activity. The router works fine when i connect my devices through ethernet cords but not through wireless connection.

Here is what I have:

I use Comcast cable both before and after the move. I use their cable modem.
I use linksys wireless-G Broadband router. 2.4 GHz, 54 mbps.


I've tried to power cycle, reset, and thats about it.
__________________

Crockpot is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

perhapse interference try changing the chanel of the router. however you didnt state esactly what you mean by it doesnt work is there absolutley no connection that shows up in your list of networks? are you trying to connect and it doesnt let you? are you connected but there is no pages that will load ect.....
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

no connection at all. Doesn't show on the wireless network list.
Crockpot is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

if you get directly next to it can you see the network and are you able to see it with another system?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

How can I change the router channels?
Crockpot is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
if you get directly next to it can you see the network and are you able to see it with another system
Nope for both
Crockpot is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 12:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Are you using a laptop? If so, make sure you didn't accidently turn off the wireless card. My laptop has a hotkey to turn it on and off. I turned it off once and couldn't figure out why my wireless network wasn't showing up either...until I turned the card back on
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try to preform a hard reset on the router then go into settings and make sure that wireless is setup right.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Default

make sure the antennas are screwed propperley in.
Giles is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 04:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 67
Default

Check to see if the SSID broadcast is turned off.
__________________

mestizo122 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.