wireless router problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2006, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Question wireless router problem

Does anyone have an idea why my Internet works when my cable modem is connected directly to a PC, but does not work when connected to my router? Neither LAN nor WLAN work. Let me know if you need more information. Thanks.

/*EDIT*/
Oh... and my router configuration page (means there is communication between PC and router) says that the PC (via LAN) is connected AND the Internet / cable modem (WAN) is connected. WLAN SSID shows up on other computers as an available network.
__________________

adsmith82 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Plug a computer with a cable to the router. Open up command prompt and do ipconfig /release and then ipconfig /renew

Then do ipconfig /all to verfiy that you recieve an IP address from the routers DHCP server. Now ping the default gateway (router)to get a reply, now ping www.google.com to get a reply. See what happens.

Tell us what is the brand and model of your router.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

The router did assign the computer an IP. The command prompt won't let me run the ping command. It pops up a dialog box and says:

"C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application."

The router is a D-Link DI-624M.
adsmith82 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

http://articles.networktechs.com/413-p1.php
Law is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I replaced the autoexec.nt file. Now it is not really doing anything when I use ping. It just gives me another prompt. After doing it a few times though, it will give me another dialog box that says:

"Command Prompt - ping 192.168.0.1
The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction.
CS:0000 IP:fff0 OP:f3 a4 07 c3 3c Choose 'Close' to terminate the application."

/* EDIT */
And it says "Divide overflow" in the command prompt window when it pops up the dialog box. It looks like it does this every 8th time I run the ping command. Every other time it just goes back to the prompt.
adsmith82 is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Which autoexec.nt file did you replace it with? It should come from your CD, I wouldn't download the one on the site, it doesn't help.
Law is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
Default

called d-link and i had problems resetting my router but it finally worked, also had problems flashing firmware, but it finally worked too... now internet is working... thanks for the help
adsmith82 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 12:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you need the router to establish an internet connection through the cable modem. a lot of the time you have to set it up for that.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.