wireless Internet missing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2006, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default wireless Internet missing

Ah somtimes I wish I could throw my wirelss adapter out the window..


ok so any way here is my problem.


My wireless internet has gone missing


So I uninstalled and re installed.

Now here is where it gets confusing.


Under device managrer is ethernet adapter, and a big question mark.


and when the wizard finds it as new hardware, it trys to install it but it asks me to connect the internet...


Im lost so if anyone would like to help me I would much appreaciate it...finals this thursday and friday....could really use the internet to study.......
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

can we get a screenshot?
__________________

__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

install the drivers for your wireless adaptor, is it a PCI inside the pc card or a USB out side the pc one.

What brand is it and its full serial.

did you try resetting the router?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Its a wirless-G card



Its inside and its located on my PCI .


I tried changing them but that didnt work.


Re set the router and that didnt work.


Screenshot wouldnt really help but if you really want me to I can get my digi cam.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

so you did try reinstalling the wireless G cards drivers? when I did mine i had to remove the card or something too.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Ok so here is the situation.


When I restart my PC it says Found new hardware Wirless-G PCI Network card.


So I click it and then it asks me what to do.


So I then click next and it searches for it...


after its done it says nothing found and then Im done there.




Any Ideas
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

does it appear in device manager? download the drivers then go in device manager right click it then choose update drivers and choose browse and find the driver file and see if it works.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

hey I got it thanks man



man wireless can be such a ***** sometimes
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

heh I hear that Iv had so many problems, the trouble I go to just to avoid having an Ethernet cable running down stairs .
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX


man wireless can be such a ***** sometimes
yea... my router needs resetting everytime someone boots and connects to the wireless, and quite alot when people are just using it. i have no idea why.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.