wireless internet acting slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default wireless internet acting slow

i bought an 802.11g wireless internet card and it was working fine until last week. recently its only been bringing in less than 54mbps. can someone help me? and its been in the same position as its been in, so its position shouldnt be the problem.
__________________

dimla is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

Unless your connection to the internet is also at 54Mbps, you have nothing to worry about.

If you have cable internet, you probably get up to 3Mbps. As long as your wireless card is getting higher than 3Mpbs, you shouldn't notice any difference in your internet performance. You'll only see a drop in speed if you're transfering large files between computers on a network.
__________________

beardo526 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

his internet speed can be any speed . ive got 54mbps wireless G and im on a 10MB Connection
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

Well... whatever his internet speed is at... as long as his wireless card stays above that level, he should be fine.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

thanks guys, well its going fine now
dimla is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there might just be high internet traffic, or you got capped
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.