Wireless adaptor and 64bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2009, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Wireless adaptor and 64bit

After installing my new 64bit windows 7 everything worked fine until about 1-2 weeks ago after a small update and now my computer does not recognize my wireless adapter on Windows 7.

Can anyone point me in the right direction of obtaining a driver?

Model WMP300N Wireless-N PCI adapter Linksys
Windows 7 home 64-bit (XP 32 on second HD which still works)
__________________

__________________
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ----COOLER MASTER Elite------GIGABYTE GA-MA770----AMD Phenom II x4-----2x2gb memory/2x1gbmemory -----750gb HD x2 ---SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4830 1GB ----Windows XP MCE/Windows 7 Home 64-bit
chump is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

Check linksys website OR rollback the driver / update in windows 7.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

the linksys website only has an old driver from 2007 that does not specify what OS it is for. I will try to rollback and let you know what happens.
__________________
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ----COOLER MASTER Elite------GIGABYTE GA-MA770----AMD Phenom II x4-----2x2gb memory/2x1gbmemory -----750gb HD x2 ---SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4830 1GB ----Windows XP MCE/Windows 7 Home 64-bit
chump is offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

Have you contacted Linksys to see if they plan on releasing a Win7 Driver? The Os has been out for almost 2 months now. They should have a driver out for it by now. Linksys is the only ones that can help with this as it is their responsibility to create proper drivers. Not Microsoft's.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

alright contacting them now. Ive tryed to use the vista driver but still nothing. The adaptor just doesn't seem to turn on, on my windows 7 side...its weird because it did for a while. i think it stopped after a small update to win7.
__________________
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ----COOLER MASTER Elite------GIGABYTE GA-MA770----AMD Phenom II x4-----2x2gb memory/2x1gbmemory -----750gb HD x2 ---SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4830 1GB ----Windows XP MCE/Windows 7 Home 64-bit
chump is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

If any thing, see if you can use a Vista 64-bit driver. I know that I am doing that on my rig with my NetGear WGN111 USB adaptor.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

well for a while now i've been ignoring this problem and just using windows xp. But i really to use my windows 7 now. Alot of people have said that my wireless adapter is just not compatible. Can anyone suggest a fast and relatively cheap adapter? i'm looking for wireless N,dual band PCI slot. I have been using linksys since thats what my router is but any suggestions for faster internet and a better gaming experience would be great
__________________
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ----COOLER MASTER Elite------GIGABYTE GA-MA770----AMD Phenom II x4-----2x2gb memory/2x1gbmemory -----750gb HD x2 ---SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4830 1GB ----Windows XP MCE/Windows 7 Home 64-bit
chump is offline  
Old 01-03-2010, 02:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

Hey mate, I've been having this exact same problem!

I was using away at windows 7 64 bit with the adapter working completely fine, I updated windows and then did a bios flash and then restarted the pc using default bios settings, since then my adapter has not worked either! I'm using a belkin F5D7050 Wireless adapter, i got the windows 7 64 bit drivers again and it still dosent work, it's strange because my adapter is coming up in devices and printers but upon installing the drivers it tells me to insert my notebook card even though im running a desktop, i just click ok and it goes straight to the finished page and tells me to restart, very strange problem , might be connected to yours.
Fladam is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to chump
Default Re: Wireless adaptor and 64bit

Fixed my problem by getting my broken USB 600n adapter and fixing it for it work long enough for windows to get the drivers for my adapter automatically. I actually think the computer thinks its the USB one but really its the PCI one since I unplugged the USB one.


I want to mark as solved but cant find that option ><
__________________

__________________
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ----COOLER MASTER Elite------GIGABYTE GA-MA770----AMD Phenom II x4-----2x2gb memory/2x1gbmemory -----750gb HD x2 ---SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4830 1GB ----Windows XP MCE/Windows 7 Home 64-bit
chump is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.