Wireless on an Acer Aspire Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default Wireless on an Acer Aspire Laptop

I've been doing some repairs on an Acer Aspire latop. Its a relatively new laptop (2005 I believe), and the customer formatted the hard drive so he could give it to someone else. The problem is, it has built in wireless, but after the reformat, there is no wireless. It doesn't show up in the Device Manager, and i'm not sure how to get it back. There is nothing in the Device Manager with an exlamation or question mark, so i'm led to believe that wireless is totally ommited from the machine now. Does anyone know how I can get the wireless back onto the laptop? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.myspace.com/uatony\"><IMG BORDER=\"0\" SRC=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/runningfromvirginia/Specs.jpg\"></A>
LiQuid STATus is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

if you check in network connections does it show a wireless card?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

No, not at all. It is intergrated wireless that originally came with the latop. In the Device Manager, all that shows up under "Network Connections" is the LAN port.
__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.myspace.com/uatony\"><IMG BORDER=\"0\" SRC=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/runningfromvirginia/Specs.jpg\"></A>
LiQuid STATus is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Get the model number and go Here and download all your chipset and wireless lan drivers. Acer's site is very slow for me right now.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i was actually gonna post the drivers however it required a username and password for the site good to see flash found it tho. good luck.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.