Wire issue. help would be great! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2008, 03:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antimatter View Post
Thanks Kurrent mate.

If it's as easy as cutting the damaged piece out and then wiring the right colors back together, I'm sure I'd have no problem.
But is that outer silver wire hard to reconnect. And would cutting 6 inches off the wire damage the power or anything.

Cheers.
-The length of the cord would not affect the power in any way.

-Is the outer part actual wire? I though it was just sheilding?
__________________

Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

You may get away with a partial shield as long as the broken sections are electrically connected with a jumper wire. The shield keeps out external noise and helps maximize data transfer rates. If you experience erratic behavior with your tablet then it's best to get the cable replaced. If it were me I'd cannibalize a mouse for it's cable and open the tablet and attach the "new" cable. A replacement from Wacom may be very costly.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 06:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

Naphtali, I'm sorry I'm pretty new to this tech stuff. The wire or shielding i'm not sure is like this bunch of really thin silver wire that surrounds the four inner wires. It's like a bunch of Robocops pubies. except there straight as apposed to your and my short and curly's. (although I'm not sure if you techno wiz's have got all sorts of bio mechanical body parts such as fiber optic pubes and what not)

Thanks Naph.

And Thanks for all your good suggestions Kurrent.
I was worried if I tried to reconnect the cables I could damage something.
From your guys suggestions and help it seems to cut out the piece and re wire the ends is ok cause if some reason it didn't work I could always just get another cable from either a mouse or Wacom If all else fails.

Or maybe Naph could just come to Dublin and just fix it for me if it's not too much
trouble. I'll buy you a Guiness of course, if your mad enough to actually like the ****.
Antimatter is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 09:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

Another alternative is to cut out the bad section and put connectors on each cable part. Male and female cable connectors can be found at any electronics parts shop. You might get a good deal taking it to a TV repair shop to get the cable fixed.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 01:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

Thanks again Kurrent.

So it would be the same as an old cable tv connection male and female?
I've only ever put male female connectors on a cable that had just one copper wire.
How would you connect all the wires to the male/female connectors, or can they all be connected to the same connector?
Sorry if these questions seem silly to you guys.

Cheers!
Antimatter is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 03:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

No, the connectors are nothing like TV coax connectors. If you want the cable repaired rather then replaced the you should take it to a repair shop where they have all the right tools to work with.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 07:37 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Wire issue. help would be great!

I rewired it myself guys and I done it perfect with all the right tools from my toolbox. I plugged it in and it wasn't working till I reinstalled the drivers. Now it's working as good as new.

Thanks guys for taking the time to help me.
__________________

Antimatter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BioShock widescreen issue maroon1 PC Gaming 22 10-08-2007 06:44 PM
Vista, Lost Planet, and 8800GTS issue. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-30-2007 05:15 PM
Issue with start up. Peter.Cort Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 12:43 PM
A Corporate Networking Issue Notsoluckycharm6 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-18-2007 01:50 AM
Wireless Internet starts great, then slows to a halt NathanLedet Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-13-2007 03:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.