Wipe a drive, low tech style? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2006, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Wipe a drive, low tech style?

I have a drive that in advertantly got a HDDPassword on it (Hard Drive Lock), i don't know what the PW, i'm prepared to buy a new drive anyway, BUT is their the posibility that i can manualy (Very Powerful Electro Magnet) (yes i have one) wipe the drive and be able to use it after, or will the EM simply render it fuctionless?

This is a last ditch effort to make the drive useable again, b/c of lock nothing will work, absolutely nothing, belive me i have tried every form of wipe.
__________________

Krinje is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 03:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 96
Default

Won't work. The problem is on a chip embedded on the hard drive with the encrypted password that has locked the drive. Magnetic wipe won't do anything to fix the problem. You're done. Use the new drive.
__________________

Aspirin is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

Try a bootable partitioner. If all else fails, then smash it with a hammer. Very good stress-reliever. I prefer to open the drives first, then smashing all the parts individually. Start with the caseing, and work your way to the read/write head (make nice ear-rings), and finish with the actual disc. fyi, dont try to get your dog to catch the disc. Its not a frisbee. Its very heavy, and the dog will try.

EDIT:

in advertantly is one word.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-20-2006, 06:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

thanks guys, i'll get my sledge hammer out :P
Krinje is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 02:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Yeah I was going to say how low tek you wanna go. Lol
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.