WinXP cannot communicate with DVD-ROM. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2010, 06:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Default WinXP cannot communicate with DVD-ROM.

Hey everyone,

I replaced an IDE CD-ROM with a DVD-ROM on an old PC.

The thing is: The new DVD is recognized in Device Manager but it has a yellow error mark.
It say's Windows has loaded the driver for the device, but cannot locate the hardware (code 41).

I've tried switching IDE cable, tried another DVD-ROM,
reinstalling the device, reinstall IDE controller,
safe mode, and nothing works.

When I tried to reinstall the SISIDE, had an error "cannot copy siside.exe".

Window XP pro sp2

Pentium 4 Celeron 1.7

ASUS P4S533-mx

2Gb RAM

DVD - LG GH22NP20 ODD

Any advice is appreciated,
Thanx
__________________

dekkaX is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: WinXP cannot communicate with DVD-ROM.

You need drivers, I would think. Go to the manufacturer's site.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 15
Default Re: WinXP cannot communicate with DVD-ROM.

Is the DVD the only drive?
Have you checked the jumper to make sure it is on the correct pins on the back of the drive. New drives will sometimes come with the jumper on CS.
RSinger is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 02:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: WinXP cannot communicate with DVD-ROM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSinger View Post
Is the DVD the only drive?
Have you checked the jumper to make sure it is on the correct pins on the back of the drive. New drives will sometimes come with the jumper on CS.
It is the only drive, and it is recognized in the BIOS.
I got some helpful advice, and it was a registry problem.

You can read here

Thanx anyway
dekkaX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.