Windows XP Not Picking up SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 54
Default Windows XP Not Picking up SATA

I'm about to reformat (i do it once every 6months) and i want to get my 10,000 rpm Raptor SATA drive working this time. Windows doesnt reconize it, but if i use Symantic's utilities, it sees its there, and can identify everything about it. Why cant i use it?

When i built my comp (8 months ago) i remember seeing something on this site about needing to push like.. F10 or F8 while you are installing windows for it to install the the SATA drivers.

Windows ISN'T on the SATA drive, its on a standard hard drive. I dont have a raid config, so the only thing i need to figure out is how to get that SATA going.

Any1 got the answer?

Il be installing WIN-XP SP2 Home Edition 32bit (till vista comes out )
PC SPEC'S
(See sig)
--------------
AMD ATHALON 64bit FX-60 @ 2.6Ghz
4GiG OCZ (i know only 3 gig can be used at once )
ASUS A8N-32 SLI DELUX
__________________

Vodreb is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you're not installing windows on the SATA drive then you just need to download your motherboard's SATA drivers and install them after you've installed windows. to install windows on the SATA drive you'll need the SATA drivers on a floppy disk and when it says "press F6 to install SCSI or RAID drivers" press F6 and follow the prompts to install the SATA drivers.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Oh, awsome thankyou. I dont have to do anything physicaly on the Mobo right? cause my sound card and the videocard blocks all access to doing anything with it (resetting pass, popin out the battery, flashing the memory) i just need to go to the ASUS site, dl the drivers, and install them while in windows correct?
Vodreb is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 01:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah, that should do it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Hmm. I installed the Drivers for my Sata drive, but it still isnt picked up in My Computer. If i go to device manager, its there, and it says it doesnt detect any problems with it.

Hmmmm.....
Vodreb is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 05:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 54
Default

Ok... I got it going. Man, that was a tricky thing to work with.

I had to install the drivers for it from ASUS. Then, i had to go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management

There, i was able to see it, and i had to then right click it, tell it to partion the drive, and now its formating as i type this. Much more work than i realized, im just glad i saw that disk management last time i was checking its status in device manager, otherwise id be SOL.
__________________

Vodreb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.