Windows won't boot on my old PC - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2009, 05:18 PM   #41 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

As long as the drive is still recognizable on the new computer, you should be good. You may run into having to take permission of the Documents & Settings folder, though. There's a topic about that in the Windows Sticky index (in the Windows board, titled ***READ FIRST***).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:27 PM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
As long as the drive is still recognizable on the new computer, you should be good. You may run into having to take permission of the Documents & Settings folder, though. There's a topic about that in the Windows Sticky index (in the Windows board, titled ***READ FIRST***).
Thanks!
I will look in to that.
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 10:43 AM   #43 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Here's the directory for your local folders in OE (you'll need to unhide folders and files):
C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Identities\{numbers and letters}\Microsoft\Outlook Express

Folder for address book (wab.exe):
C:\Program Files\Outlook Express
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:10 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Here's the directory for your local folders in OE (you'll need to unhide folders and files):
C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Identities\{numbers and letters}\Microsoft\Outlook Express

Folder for address book (wab.exe):
C:\Program Files\Outlook Express
Awesome !

Thanks so much !

I will try to connect the drive tonight or tomorrow to my new PC. I am not sure if the connections are compatible, I might need some kind of adapter.
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:14 PM   #45 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

What connection does the drive have vs what you have available on your computer? If you don't have an open compatible internal connector, then you may have to just get an external enclosure.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:32 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What connection does the drive have vs what you have available on your computer? If you don't have an open compatible internal connector, then you may have to just get an external enclosure.
I don't know what those connections are called, but as far as I remember, my old PCs hard drive is connected with one of those broad multi-pin connectors (they look similar to the floppy connectors). I don't know if my new PCs motherboard has that connection, I will take a look in the manual.
Is an external enclosure something like an adapter?
My new PC has an e-sata connection in the front.
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:52 PM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

The wide ribbon is called ide.
You new motherboard will have one.
You will be connecting it directly to the motherboard.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 09:06 AM   #48 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Thanks !

Before I go ahead an connect my old PC's hard-drive via IDE onto my new PC's motherboard:
Do I need to worry about my new PC seeing that as the hard-drive to boot from?
I mean, do I need to change anytihng in the bios or anything else before I do this?
Could connecting this hard-drive onto the IDE port of my nww PC mess up anything on my new PC?

UPDATE:

Ok, so I just tried it, I took the disc out of my old PC and connected it in my new PC. Then when trying to boot Windows it wanted to check the disd (chkdsk) but I interrupted in order to boot windows right away, and everything took very long. Until I finally entered windows, and I saw my desktop, but no symbols yet, and it still stayed like that for like 2 minutes or something, so I thought, this does not look right and I shut it off and diconnected the hard drive again.
Is this normal, that it taeks so long? What should I do? I don't want the chkdsk to run since I ran it already on my old PC and it took 1,5 days (!!!) to finish.
Should I try to boot agian and just wait?

At some point I was afraid of a virus or something. Could my old hdd be damaged by a virus maybe?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 03:54 PM   #49 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Did you try booting off of the old drive, or the new computer's actual OS? You'll wanna put the jumper to slave on the old drive also.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 04:44 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Thanks!
No, I was booting off my new PC's OS.
I did not change anything in BIOS, and my new PC recognized the disc as drive F.
The jumper to slave, does that have to do with which connector of the IDE cale I connect?
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 2K Pro won't boot CrunchyToast Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-10-2009 06:03 PM
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 06:51 PM
Booting Windows XP From An External Drive Osiris Apple and Mac 0 09-11-2008 09:23 AM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM
Takes 3/4 to about an hour to boot into windows (new hardware) Losluchadores Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-11-2007 02:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.