Windows won't boot on my old PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2009, 06:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Also as the info carnage posted states double check your hard drive connections to make sure they have not come loose.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
It checks your hard disk, yes. It attempts to find bad sectors and mark them off. You should not have any data loss (I haven't, and I've used it tons and tons of times). But make sure when you do it, you have the /r switch on there.
Thanks !

I will look if I have the XP install disc. I got this PC about 8 years ago and XP was already on it, not sure if I got an install disc.
I guess the install disc of my other PC (winxp pro, my old pc is xo home) would not work, would it?
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

If its a normal install disc, then yes it should work for a chkdsk, but DO NOT use it to perform a repair install like Hef suggested.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
If its a normal install disc, then yes it should work for a chkdsk, but DO NOT use it to perform a repair install like Hef suggested.
OK, but how do I do this?
So, I can use the XP pro disc of my new PC eventhough this PC with the prolme has XP home on it?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

You can use it to perform the chkdsk but NOT for a repair install. You have to have a home disk to do a repair install on xp home.

post #8 has the info you need to run the chkdsk /r
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
You can use it to perform the chkdsk but NOT for a repair install. You have to have a home disk to do a repair install on xp home.

post #8 has the info you need to run the chkdsk /r
Thanks!

Oh, ok, just saw that carnageX added that info.

Ok, sorry if this is a stupid question:

I found my old XP recovery disc, but how do I boor from it?
Do I have to set that in BIOS to boot from CD?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Yes you will have to set your BIOS to boot from CD first.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

OK, I just entered chkdsk /r
and the check is running.

At this point, it's most likely a damaged HDD or could this still be a virus or something else?

And what do I do after this test is done? Do I need to get a new HDD ?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

The BSOD you got indicates it could be a bad sector on the HDD. You can always check the health of the drive with a drive health analyzer. SeaGate makes one, WD makes one as well (both are bootable or can be run from within Windows).

After the check is done, just reboot and try to boot normally into Windows. Hopefully it will boot right up and work fine.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
The BSOD you got indicates it could be a bad sector on the HDD. You can always check the health of the drive with a drive health analyzer. SeaGate makes one, WD makes one as well (both are bootable or can be run from within Windows).

After the check is done, just reboot and try to boot normally into Windows. Hopefully it will boot right up and work fine.
Thanks !

So, in that case, would I just leave things like they are or should I get a new HDD?
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 2K Pro won't boot CrunchyToast Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-10-2009 06:03 PM
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 06:51 PM
Booting Windows XP From An External Drive Osiris Apple and Mac 0 09-11-2008 09:23 AM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM
Takes 3/4 to about an hour to boot into windows (new hardware) Losluchadores Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-11-2007 02:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.