Windows won't boot on my old PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2009, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Question Windows won't boot on my old PC

Today when I wanrted to switch on my new PC it would not boot.
I got a message screen saying windows could not be started due to a change in software- or hardware.
I got a choice menu of different option to either try again, or to try boot in the last working configuration or in safe mode. I tried all of then, but none let me boot windows.
Whne I tried to boot it normally I got a blue screen, but it was only on for a split second so I could not read what it saud and the PC would reset.

Could this be a broken hard-disc? or a virus?

Is there anyway I can find out without being able to boot windows? Do uouy tihnk I lost all the content of my old PC?
What can I do now?

I would appreciate any help!

Thanks,
Lars
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

First just to check I would clear cmos, reseat ram and gpu?

If that did not work since you cannot boot into safe mode and last good configuration does not work I would run a repair install of xp.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Do this:

When the computer tries to start up and gives you a BSOD, then wait for the BIOS splash screen to come up. There should be a pause after the BIOS screen, and start pressing F8 until a boot menu comes up. Should look similar to the one that you had seen with Last Good Config, Safe Mode, etc. Choose the option that says "disable restart on system failure." THe system should then reboot again, and let it get to try to load windows. This time the BSOD should stay up. WHen it does, give us the following info found in this topic:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/ (items we need are pointed to with arrows)
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
First just to check I would clear cmos, reseat ram and gpu?

If that did not work since you cannot boot into safe mode and last good configuration does not work I would run a repair install of xp.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
Thanks !
I tried to reseat the RAM already, that was my first thought. I will try the GPU as well.
WOuld a repair install Win XP mean I'd lose all my data?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Do this:

When the computer tries to start up and gives you a BSOD, then wait for the BIOS splash screen to come up. There should be a pause after the BIOS screen, and start pressing F8 until a boot menu comes up. Should look similar to the one that you had seen with Last Good Config, Safe Mode, etc. Choose the option that says "disable restart on system failure." THe system should then reboot again, and let it get to try to load windows. This time the BSOD should stay up. WHen it does, give us the following info found in this topic:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/ (items we need are pointed to with arrows)
Thanks !
I will do what you suggested and post what I find.

Thanks, guys, I appreciate your help!
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Give us the stop error first.

A repair install will keep all of your installed programs and data intact although sometimes things will happen it is not a guarantee.

You will need to do all of the windows updates right away to get your machine properly patched.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Repair install does not erase your data, it just replaces the Windows files. But if its hardware problem, a repair install won't help much.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 05:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

OK, I just got the blue screen to stay and I can read it:

it says:

UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME


then at the end it says:

technical information:

STOP: 0x000000ED (0x87369900, 0xC0000006, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
STOP 0x000000ED or UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME

Windows XP was unable to gain access to the volume containing boot files. If you see this STOP message while attempting to upgrade a system to Windows XP, verify that you have compatible drivers for the disk controller and check the drive cabling to make sure it is configured properly. If you're using ATA-66 or ATA-100 drivers, make sure you have an 80-connector cable, not a standard 40-connector IDE cable. See the troubleshooting suggestions for STOP 0x7B errors as well. In some cases, this error will spontaneously correct itself after you restart your system.
I'd do a chkdsk /r from the XP disc's recovery console.

Do you have an XP install disc? If so, then just boot off of it, Press R to enter the Recovery Console, choose the installation of Windows (probably just 1, so type 1 and then hit enter), and then enter: chkdsk /r
and let it go. May take a while, so be patient.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I'd do a chkdsk /r from the XP disc's recovery console.
Is chkdsk =check harddisc?
Does this error message look like my harddisc is damaged?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows won't boot on my old PC

It checks your hard disk, yes. It attempts to find bad sectors and mark them off. You should not have any data loss (I haven't, and I've used it tons and tons of times). But make sure when you do it, you have the /r switch on there.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 2K Pro won't boot CrunchyToast Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-10-2009 06:03 PM
prep for HijackThis Log posting paulmars HijackThis Logs (finished) 38 02-03-2009 06:51 PM
Booting Windows XP From An External Drive Osiris Apple and Mac 0 09-11-2008 09:23 AM
Windows 'accessing' SATA drives before boot koosie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-06-2007 03:07 AM
Takes 3/4 to about an hour to boot into windows (new hardware) Losluchadores Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-11-2007 02:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.