Windows unable to read three parts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2005, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Kutabare
Default Windows unable to read three parts

I have just recently reformatted my computer and installed Windows XP. However, after installing, Windows couldn't read my ethernet port, audio port, and the mass storage port. My previous reinstallations never had such problems. All the parts listed are all part of the motherboard and cannot be removed and reattached. What should I do?
__________________

__________________
What does Kutabare mean sir?
Kutabare is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

try to reinstall the motherboard drivers or the chipset drivers.
__________________

__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Kutabare
Default

Hey thanks a lot for that tip; it saved me a lot of trouble and money as well. But I have one tiny problem now...I have a prompt that pops up before Windows loads up. It tells me to choose an OS, but I have two of the same ones. Is there a way to turn off this prompt?
__________________
What does Kutabare mean sir?
Kutabare is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

go to run and type "msconfig"

a box will apear, click BOOT.INI. Click the "Check Boot Paths button"

it should say there was a problem and ask if you would like to correct it.

If it dosn't say there is a problem make sure the old windows folders have been deleted.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 03:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Kutabare
Default

Thanks a lot!
__________________
What does Kutabare mean sir?
Kutabare is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 04:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

no probs. Thats what were here for.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.