Windows start up error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Exclamation Windows start up error

When i start my computer it will go all the way to the screen with the windows logo and the scrolling bar but after that its a black screen with a movable mouse but that is it!

it crashed after a BSOD

when i turned it back on it would do the same except instead of a black screen it would go to a blue screen error message for a split second then reboot and start the cycle over again.

Next i ran chkdsk /p but all it did was tell me it found errors

i ran windows repair from the disk it rebooted to finalize the repair but i took out the disk and rebooted before it could and now it goes to the black screen with a mouse even if i run windows repair

cant i create a MS-DOS disk with scandisk already on it or can i force a system restore ???
__________________

CoDeR is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

While at the black screen, are you able to use Ctrl+Alt+Delete? If so, use the run function to start 'explorer.' I'd also suggest, if it is working, to take out everything nonessential out of MSCONFIG's startup, as this could also be a problem.

Next step too, I would suggest taking out all of your PCI cards (modem etc.).
__________________

silentex is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 05:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

NO
i cant use those keys

if i reinstalled windows what files would i lose?
CoDeR is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 35
Default

Generally speaking . . . everything. You can try and do a repair install, it won't reformat the drive.
silentex is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 06:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, if you cant cntrl alt del go into dos, edit the system.ini and change shell=explorer.exe to shell=progman.exe and restart. It'll start up with program manager. Course, this depends on the os version. Also, see if you can get into safe mode. Try safe mode first.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 11:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

OMG! lol... doent matter.. dont care about it.. i got an error too when i switch on my computer, but it still work properly... but please make sure dont let the system32 to have error... otherwise u need to format..
SpringNite is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Default

I have exactly the same problem, in fact that's why i came to this forum in the first place.

The PC boots up just fine and then as windows finishes loading (just before the sign in screen) there's the blue screen for a split second and then it reboots. However it's fine in safe mode and no virus's found...

P.S. Using Windows XP Home Ed.
__________________

LBennett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.