Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2008, 07:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,514
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Did you disable system restart after failure?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 11:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

ya and the computer still restarted but i reinstalled graphics! so far so good!
__________________

xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 12:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Were you using Beta Drivers? It might just be that XP has a issue with a Quad GPU setup as well.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 09:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Were you using Beta Drivers? It might just be that XP has a issue with a Quad GPU setup as well.


Never had this prob before... BUT! anyways!


Hanging application cuteftp.exe, version 8.2.0.0, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at Events and Errors Message Center: Basic Search.

computer just restarted again! and that was the latest known problem!


it says cuteftp.exe
last time it was firefox.exe


....

I don't understand.
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 01:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

so.. computer just restarted again.. Any thoughts?
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 02:39 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

cuteftp is for file transfers. Are you transferring files while it restarts? If you aren't using FTP you can disable it. It isn't a required process.

I think it's your network controller. Sounds like the last few processes that have crashed your computer all have to do with networking.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 02:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Memtest 86 +, google, download, burn and run for minimum of 6 hours.

Get a digital multi meter and check your power supply voltages.
Ste is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 03:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

WTF invalid.. There isnt even a set up in that..... w.e Any other thoughts?
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 03:32 PM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

What are you talking about? What's invalid and what setup? Did you try reinstalling your networking controller?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 03:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

So you did everything I asked and what were the results.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I remove a virus from my Windows 98 computer? soarwitheagles Viruses, Spyware and Malware 14 03-21-2008 04:53 AM
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.