Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2008, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Ok i am having a serious problem. My computer will automatically restart like 4 times day. The computer freeze then screen will go black. Just now i got this message


Blue Background

A problem has been detected and windows has shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

The problem seems to be caused by the following file atidvag

If this is the first time this stop error screen as appeared (something like that) restart your computer, if this screen appears again follow these steps..

Any idea what the prob may be?
__________________

xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Go into Administrative Tools in Control Panel and look at your event log under System and Application right afterthe next time it happens. Look at the closest one to the top that says "error" and post what it says when you click Properties. Usually gives an explanation there.

Sounds like a video card hardware or driver problem judging by the file description.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

I have alot of "Errors" the latest one is

Faulting application firefox.exe, version 1.8.20080.31114, faulting module js3250.dll, version 4.0.0.0, fault address 0x00020290.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at Events and Errors Message Center: Basic Search.


Do you think this is what caused my computer to restart??
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Hmm nothing in your System log? "atidvag" isn't part of Firefox so it doesn't sound like that the one. Try reinstalling your ATI Catalyst drivers if you don't see anything in your system log.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

I dont know! my computer will restart! about once a day.See what happens is ill be listening to music! than sometimes my screen will go black! but the music will continue to play! than after 10 seconds it comes back on! One time it did that! and everything was extremely bright! my task bar desktop! EVERYTHING... sometimes it even restarts its self...

Computer starts up fine and i have no other problems.. Ill try reinstalling the graphics!

also these are the errors i am having!



Hanging application cuteftp.exe, version 8.2.0.0, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at Events and Errors Message Center: Basic Search.


Hanging application mshta.exe, version 7.0.5730.13, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at Events and Errors Message Center: Basic Search.


Hanging application mshta.exe, version 7.0.5730.13, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at Events and Errors Message Center: Basic Search.

Hanging application mshta.exe, version 7.0.5730.13, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at Events and Errors Message Center: Basic Search.


a lots more in the event viewer as well as some Warnings!


that i told you about the file atidvag only happened ONCE!
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Go to Start > Right click on 'My Computer' > go to Properties > Advanced tab > Click 'Settings' under Startup and Recovery > under 'System Failure' uncheck the box that says automatically restart. Click Ok on all the dialog boxes.

Next time you get a blue screen, write down the words in all caps at the top of the screen (something like "IRQL_WAS_LESS_OR_EQUAL" or something like that), and also the STOP error code, which is at the bottom, and will be in the following format: 0x000000##, where ## = numbers/digits.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n...untitled-8.jpg


SCSI and RAID Controllers.. Never seen that before!...
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 06:11 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

SCSI and RAID controllers just come on your motherboard as part the hard drive controller.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Well not needed! so i removed them both! and i just uninstalled my graphics i am gonna reinstall it!
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 06:44 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Windows as shut down to prevent damge to your computer

Well you really didn't need to remove them though.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I remove a virus from my Windows 98 computer? soarwitheagles Viruses, Spyware and Malware 14 03-21-2008 04:53 AM
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 06:11 PM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.