Windows Restarts... HDD Prob? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Windows Restarts... HDD Prob?

Alright well the PSU problem is fixed and it boots up and starts fine. So I reformatted and reinstalled windows and it seemed to install fine. Then after the installation when it tries to start, it loads partly, freezes, and then restarts and gives me the error window. I tried loading it in safe mode and it loaded. I'm guess it's the HDD which is pretty old. A 60GB Quantam Fireball about 6 yrs old I think.

I also tried reinstalling windows since it told me the first installation was corrupt. I know it isnt the CD cuz I've used it on about 5 other comps as recently as 5 days ago.

Tell me what u guys think

thx
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

glad to hear you got the psu issue sorted , windows keep bsod logs in c:\windows\minidump also by default settings windows is set to restart on a bsod, rar/zip all files in that folder and upload to http://www.upload2.net provide the link and ill analyze em
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

no no sry man i confused u. i would have said the bsod if it was. i mean the screen where it asks u if u wanna use the LKGC or Safe Mode or Normal etc. cuz it says windows could not start properly.

her comp before i put the new cpu/mobo together was freezing and she just decide to switch everything. now i think it might have been her HD thats why i was guessing that.

thx man
let me know what u think
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax
Default Re: Windows Restarts... HDD Prob?

Quote:
Originally posted by cvb724
I know it isnt the CD cuz I've used it on about 5 other comps as recently as 5 days ago.
'round these parts here we dont talk about that stuff

Just as a friendly reminder
__________________
Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 02:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

I say it would be the HDD because my old HDD was doing that also. It would boot up but then after windows is done loading it would restart, even going into safe mode it would do the same. But then reformatting for like 2 times it finaly kicked in and worked again. Weird stuff...
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Re: Windows Restarts... HDD Prob?

Quote:
Originally posted by Anphrax
'round these parts here we dont talk about that stuff

Just as a friendly reminder
thx but its ok now microsoft doesnt care anymore. the last two times i called them they didnt even ask how many computers it was on. i wouldnt have said it if they did. theyre just waiting to make money from vista now

i know the rules ive been here a while

thx

i'll try one more time and if doesnt work we're gonna get a WD caviar 80GB
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

never get a new hd for no real reason, if the hd dont do any unusual sounds and it passes the manufacturer software diagnostic test then theres nothing wrong with it , check it with powermax
for floppy - http://downloads.maxtor.com/download...s/powermax.exe
for cd - http://downloads.maxtor.com/download...s/PwrMaxEn.iso
user guide - http://www.maxtor.com/_files/maxtor/...o_guide_en.pdf


anyway i still dont understand what the problem is you havnt been clear , so it displays that F8 advanced option menu, and what happens when you select "start windows normally" ? , and what do you mean by "she just decide to switch everything" everything means what parts exactly?
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Windows Restarts... HDD Prob?

Quote:
Originally posted by cvb724
gives me the error window
What error window?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 04:54 PM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

when i tell it to start windows normally it doesnt load and then just restarts. if i tell it to go to safe mode. it loads fine. thats why im iffy about if its the hd or not.

the hd does make weird sounds tho. it squeals or something non stop even when its idle.

let me know if u need anything else
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 04:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Connect your HDD using a different cable on the other IDE connector, or at least check if all cables and jumpers are OK. Then re-install XP (again).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.