Windows restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2006, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default Windows restart

Hello...
I have a problem and i don't know why it happens.
Windows xp system restart sometimes automatically and saw me for 1 sec blue screen.
I have change the power supply, ram, vga and ethernet, but nothing.
Anybody help me?
__________________

electr.eel is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

have you reformatted? sounds like something is corrupt.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

No. i would like to avoid this step
electr.eel is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 04:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: 192.168.1.101
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to DizKiller
Default

well, typically if u start getting blue screens, u need to format
__________________
Got a question, query, or just dumbfounded by somthing?

Google It
DizKiller is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

i have to agree with dizkiller. is better to change the word format with windows reinstall. put all your data in one folder in c:\, then boot in dos and delete everything except your folder with your data. with this you clean your drive and if you choose in xp installation, "leave the current file system intact (no changes)" on the format step you will loose none of your data and you will get a fresh installation.
djb is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Elementary!!! You have already replaced all devices but HDD! So your problem with hard disk.

It may be problem with:

1)Hard disk - buy a new one =)
2)File system - backup data and reinstall Windows

Have a fun
__________________

McBlackk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.