Windows Loading Problems... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2008, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Windows Loading Problems...

I recently reformatted my HDD (bought a new SE16 [640GB]) and thus had to reinstall driveirs... however, upon installing the video card drives for my 9600 gt straight off the nvidia website, I noticed on reboot that the windows loading bar froze... for quite some time (5-360 seconds) before going again... this increases my windows load time dramatically and thus is quite a hindrance when one reason I bought a faster HDD was to boot up faster...

When I uninstall the drivers, the freeze stops...

Whats going on? I also tried the drivers provided on my PNY 9600 GT's disc.

Its this screen:



however my loading bar is green (MCE)
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Windows Loading Problems...

How about disableing the startup of the nvidia control panel in msconfig? The nvidia driver starts up a few things when you install it and I always disable them as soon as I've installed a new driver. Worth a shot?
__________________

[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Windows Loading Problems...

yeah sure, I was going to do that anyways, so its a good first step

thanks for the idea, and I'll update the thread with my results

edit:

nope, the problem still exists
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Loading Problems...

So it sticks at the device loading stage it sounds like. Without the drivers it does not do it but when the drivers are installed it takes longer to laod and initalise the device.

I would see if nvidia has any info of this on their site and report it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Windows Loading Problems...

ok, I'll do that as well

I don't really see why this is happening... the 9600 GT worked fine before the reformat/HDD change... and the HDD isn't really tied to the 9600 GT much at all, besides the fact that it loads windows/drivers...
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Loading Problems...

Maybe they are conflicting with teh default drivers Windows loaded during its install?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Windows Loading Problems...

make sure that you use drivercleaner to get rid of the old drivers.

also, why havent you loaded sp2 yet?
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Skipping Problems in Windows XP Miragey Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-28-2007 09:57 AM
Join The Windows Feedback Program and grab some free apps Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-14-2007 05:45 PM
Problems in restarting Windows Vista johan01 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-14-2007 03:43 PM
Sony VAIO Desktop - Windows Home Edition Problems KugarWeb Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-12-2007 01:01 PM
Windows 2000 Login Problems Jack10525 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-26-2007 04:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.