windows installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default windows installation

Hi, I just got a new computer put together and i need to put windows xp on it. I have the disc. When i power up the computer everything reads as it should except it says "cmos checksum bad" i have read that that may be a glith or bug in the ECS board that i am using. i am able to get around the message by not having the keyboard installed. ( i was told to boot and get past the message and then quickly install the keyboard so it also gets power ) i did that and the keyboard worked untill i needed it to install windows xp. On the opening setup screen where it says to continue installing windows xp hit enter. thats when my keyboard stops working. Anyone of you have any ideas how to get xp installed on this system succesfully?

The specs of the pc are:

motherboard - ECS 945-P
cpu - pentium d 920
video - 6600gt pci express
ram - gig ddr2
harddrive - western digital 250GB in sata 2
and 2 dvd drives, and a floppy.
__________________

cynical897 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Have you tried to set your bios to default. I know this is a stretch but worth a try.If it were me I would take it apart and return the motherboard and get one that works right. You shouldent have to do that with a new system.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

get into the bios and load "optimized defaults" or "performance defaults" and save , it will likely fix the error , if after fixin the error youll still have keyboard issues in the xp setup then play around with then enable/disable (depending what the current settings is) the ps2 keyboard wakeup in "power managment setup" in the bios not sure it will help but worth a shot , also you might wanna look in my first reply at this thread http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=96848 about how to integrate service pack 1 or 2 to the windows cd and why its important , also it have links to windows xp install guides
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i tried resetting the bios, but my bios doesnt save settings i have changed. its all messed up, i am going to have to get it replaced. thanks for your help though.
cynical897 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 01:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

replace the cmos battery. this error often comes up with a dead/dying cmos battery
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 01:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Overdriven6
Default

yes i agree with nitestick, the cmos battery is probably dead, or not seated all the way. That would explain why your bios arent being saved.
__________________

Overdriven6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.