Windows install problem...out of ideas. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2014, 03:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
Ok, update time, still nothing is working properly or cleanly. After getting the OS in without a gpu I inserted the manufacturer drivers DVD and after restarting it failed with random black screens.

The USB OS install went smoothly, so to did the drivers, until I did the restart. Trying to connect to the network I get a "SSDP discovery has stopped working" error. IE wont work, comp hangs and has long delays in running programs. Another restart and this time I get "Microsoft Windows Search Indexer has stopped working" , then I get that explorer has stopped working.

Continuing on this suicide inducing road:
- Install on HDD instead of SDD: Get a WerFault.exe error that throws me into a cyclical error. BSOD on restart.
- Back to SSD on new DVD, fresh install and format: Random crashes trying to run windows update.
- On SSD with the windows .iso download on DVD: after drivers were installed got the same WeFault.exe error.

Fun times.
Well its least theres some small good news with your reply.
When I'm looking at your problem it reminds me of windows xp pro sp2 and sp3 installation issue i had in late 2005.
I didn't know what the heck was wrong until I narrowed it back to my copied disc of xp.
Apparently some files got corrupt and wouldn't copy right, even on a new dvd-cdrw drive.

Windows 7 Professional x86/x64 ISO Download | MicrosoftStore.Me
Bookmark this and use the real iso's from microsoft, digital river is good, but I rather go right to the source for the isos.
Microsoft Store
Use this if you haven't yet, never had a problm with it.
PowerISO - Create, Burn, Mount, Edit, Compress, Encrypt, Split, Extract ISO file, ISO/BIN converter, Virtual Drive, DAA File

Also use this to mount the iso and have it verify the integretity of the iso disc on virtual cd drive before installing.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 03:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Thanks, good advice. Unfortunately, that is the .iso I'm using and that is the tool I used to set up the USB.

[edit]At this point, I've used 3 different versions on 4 different DVD copies and 2 different USB sticks. The DVD copy worked fine on my other comp just a couple of weeks ago with a different key. My old original .iso has been used on a dozen installs/reformats with a variety of legit keys, never once was their a hiccup on the .iso or DVD install ntegrity. [/edit]
__________________

jfenwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 04:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
Thanks, good advice. Unfortunately, that is the .iso I'm using and that is the tool I used to set up the USB.

[edit]At this point, I've used 3 different versions on 4 different DVD copies and 2 different USB sticks. The DVD copy worked fine on my other comp just a couple of weeks ago with a different key. My old original .iso has been used on a dozen installs/reformats with a variety of legit keys, never once was their a hiccup on the .iso or DVD install ntegrity. [/edit]
You're going to hate this suggestion and me with it too but...
Mobo - ASUS maximus IV-Genz

I have a very strong feeling, your motherboard is at fault here.
You have 2 options,
1.look into getting a new bios for the mobo and see if it may fix the issue with the usb/sata controller.

2.Have asus send you a different motherboard then the one you have.
Or flat out get rid of it and use gigabyte or asrock like ppmguire would do.
All the times I've used asus mainly recently in december 2012 they are nothing but problems in the long run. :/

If you make a decision on a rma return hit me up and I'll make sure you deal with tier 3 support at asus.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 04:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
Bookmark this and use the real iso's from microsoft, digital river is good, but I rather go right to the source for the isos.
Just an FYI, DigitalRiver is also "right to the source" for Microsoft as they're a software distributor for them .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 06:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Just an FYI, DigitalRiver is also "right to the source" for Microsoft as they're a software distributor for them .
So out of the blue you reply just to make the comment to me ?
Thanks anyway carnage, I already knew all of this.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 07:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
So out of the blue you reply just to make the comment to me ?
Thanks anyway carnage, I already knew all of this.
Was already subscribed to the topic from my previous reply.

Was just adding onto your comment that Digital River is still coming from the source because they're an official MS Download Distributor. So the ISO you're getting from MS would be the same as getting it from Digital River.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 07:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Was already subscribed to the topic from my previous reply.

Was just adding onto your comment that Digital River is still coming from the source because they're an official MS Download Distributor. So the ISO you're getting from MS would be the same as getting it from Digital River.
Subscribed or not carnage, you "REALLY" did not have to reply with your comment.
Look back at my reply and read what I stated, since I said digital river.
I know where the iso comes from, however I did not state which url link it comes from mainly provided by msdn.

That link I gave jfen is coming right from the home front of microsoft servers.
If he wanted to, just click the link and download, no iso errors or what not from elsewhere.

Thats all i wanted him to unstand and he had no problem with that.

Thank you for understanding carnage.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
Subscribed or not carnage, you "REALLY" did not have to reply with your comment.
Look back at my reply and read what I stated, since I said digital river.
I know where the iso comes from, however I did not state which url link it comes from mainly provided by msdn.
Not why you're getting defensive. I was just adding onto your comment, not trying to belittle you...

I was just stating in case other people read these posts as well, and for some reason think that Digital River isn't a legit source (which it definitely is). So stop getting so uppity like you always do with me, seriously man.

Quote:

That link I gave jfen is coming right from the home front of microsoft servers.
If he wanted to, just click the link and download, no iso errors or what not from elsewhere.

Thats all i wanted him to unstand and he had no problem with that.

Thank you for understanding carnage.
Not necessarily up to the server if you're going to get "ISO errors" ... like I stated in my first reply, Chrome has issues with large downloads, so downloading any ISO from ANYWHERE would still corrupt the ISO just because of how Chrome handles the large downloads. So if he were to get it from Microsoft's MSDN, TechNET, Digital River, DreamSpark, or hell even some random blog that's hosting it.... it wouldn't matter. Would still get a corrupt download. That's not server side - that's a client side issue.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 08:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Not why you're getting defensive. I was just adding onto your comment, not trying to belittle you...

I was just stating in case other people read these posts as well, and for some reason think that Digital River isn't a legit source (which it definitely is). So stop getting so uppity like you always do with me, seriously man.

Just stop replying please, none of this would have ever came up if you hadn't replied.
Your the one who thinks I don't know what I'm talking about or know what I'm doing as tech person.
You've always been like that with me, thats why I prefer not to say anything to you in the long run to prevent a problem on this forum. :|

I'm done with this discussion.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Windows instal problem...out of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeTech View Post
You're going to hate this suggestion and me with it too but...
Mobo - ASUS maximus IV-Genz

I have a very strong feeling, your motherboard is at fault here.
You have 2 options,
1.look into getting a new bios for the mobo and see if it may fix the issue with the usb/sata controller.

2.Have asus send you a different motherboard then the one you have.
Or flat out get rid of it and use gigabyte or asrock like ppmguire would do.
All the times I've used asus mainly recently in december 2012 they are nothing but problems in the long run. :/

If you make a decision on a rma return hit me up and I'll make sure you deal with tier 3 support at asus.
Lol, dude I'm one step ahead of you! These errors are all on a Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H. After the first batch of problems I had on the Asus I assumed it had to be a mobo thing, it was the only thing that made sense. So I picked up the Gigabyte...but problems continued. That's what's got me banging my head against the wall...NOTHING seems to work. At this point I'm just thinking I'll return the Gigabyte and sell the rest of the parts individually, move my HTPC to the garage and get a NAS for the family TV instead.

Unfortunately I can't RMA the ASUS mobo, I bought it over a year ago used...unless someone can hook a brother up! cough::cough::hint::hint
__________________

jfenwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8 Information *Updated for SKU Versions* KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 40 12-11-2013 09:46 PM
Windows 98 Box PP Mguire Overclocking and Modding 22 06-21-2013 03:40 AM
Do I HAVE to install the drivers for my motherboard, or can I let Windows choose the drivers? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-28-2013 02:38 PM
Computer hangs and freezes bbetenia1 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 9 01-21-2013 10:28 PM
Can I install Windows 7 on one SSD, and Windows 8 on another and use both? soarwitheagles Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-21-2012 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.