Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2014, 09:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Did you try a single stick of RAM in each slot one at a time?
Thanks, that did the trick. I took all out except one and moved its location to another slot. She booted up.

I get a DQS training failed on previous boot, reverted to slower DRAM speed at post. Press DEL to Resume
I then have to press DEL to continue and it throws me into BIOS ... I default to optimal settings, an option that my BIOS has because I don't know what else to do in BIOS.

The computer will soft boot fine but I get the same message if I hard reboot. It takes a long time to start post and stops with the DQS message.

Any suggestions?
__________________

mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
jpross123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Did you try a single stick of RAM in each slot one at a time?
I was gonna say, it sounds like a bad ram stick to me. You beat me to it
__________________

jpross123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
jpross123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwwwilson View Post
Thanks, that did the trick. I took all out except one and moved its location to another slot. She booted up.

I get a DQS training failed on previous boot, reverted to slower DRAM speed at post. Press DEL to Resume
I then have to press DEL to continue and it throws me into BIOS ... I default to optimal settings, an option that my BIOS has because I don't know what else to do in BIOS.

The computer will soft boot fine but I get the same message if I hard reboot. It takes a long time to start post and stops with the DQS message.

Any suggestions?
Did you just upgrade the ram in the computer, or is it the same ram you've been using?
jpross123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwwwilson View Post
Thanks, that did the trick. I took all out except one and moved its location to another slot. She booted up.

I get a DQS training failed on previous boot, reverted to slower DRAM speed at post. Press DEL to Resume
I then have to press DEL to continue and it throws me into BIOS ... I default to optimal settings, an option that my BIOS has because I don't know what else to do in BIOS.

The computer will soft boot fine but I get the same message if I hard reboot. It takes a long time to start post and stops with the DQS message.

Any suggestions?
Post the model of your motherboard (or if it's a prebuilt, post the brand/model), and post the model of your RAM stick(s).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Same RAM sticks that I have had for over a year.

MOBO: Biostar A770E3
RAM: (2x4gb) Kingston HyperX - in blue slots and (2x2gb) Mushkin Silverline in tan slots

They go 4gb/4gb(blue slots side by side) and 2gb/2gb(tan slots side by side)

I may have a bad 2gb Muskin Silverline... being that I took those out in order to cable management my rig when I installed my upgraded PSU.
mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 10:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Could you post the model numbers of the sticks, or at least the frequency/timings/voltages?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 11:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Could you post the model numbers of the sticks, or at least the frequency/timings/voltages?
Where can I find that information in Windows or do I have to take the sticks out to find out?

I'm thinking frequency is 1333, they are DDR3 sticks.
mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 11:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

You can use CPU-Z and look on the Memory/SPD tabs.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 09:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Type: DDR3
Size: 12GB
Channel# Dual
DC Mode: Unganged
NB Frequency: 1999.9 MHz
TIMINGS:
DRAM Frequency: 666.6 MHz
FSBRAM: 3:10
CAS# Latency (CL): 9.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD): 9 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP): 9 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS): 24 clocks
Bank Cycle Time (tRC): 33 clocks
Command Rate (CR): 2T
DRAM Idle Timer: DIMMED OUT
Total CAS# (tRDRAM): DIMMED OUT
Row to Column (tRCD): DIMMED OUT

Sorry I couldn't get a print screen of this for some reason. But that is all of the info that CPU-Z gives me under the Memory Tab.
mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 10:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
mwwwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Windows freezing at splash screen after PSU upgrade

Here is everything. Sorry, I figured out the print screen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled1.jpg (75.9 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled2.jpg (74.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled3.jpg (65.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled4.jpg (68.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Untitled5.jpg (57.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________

mwwwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor loses signal, keyboard lights turn off after windows splash screen, long delay mc02x Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-10-2012 05:55 PM
No Display After Windows Splash Screen Nigomas2060 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-08-2010 04:14 PM
No display after windows splash screen eightballuk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-05-2007 03:03 PM
Windows XP hangs at splash screen fourtruths Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-26-2005 09:00 AM
windows xp wont boot stops after splash screen shelldawn Microsoft Windows and Software 1 01-17-2005 11:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.