Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2015, 06:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

Have you tried formatting the drive on the other usable machine with GPT? You said that it just counts it as unallocated disk space. It's worth a shot

Edit:

Have you upgraded the BIOS?
__________________

__________________
Under_Score
------------------------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz | Cooling: Just Fans | Motherboard: BioStar Tz68K+ | RAM: Cosair Vengeance16GB (4X4GB) DDR3 @ 1600MHz | Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 560 TI | HDD: 1 TB Western Digital (want SSD for OS) | Sound: On-Board sound | PSU: CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W | Case: Cooler Master CM Storm Scout SGC-2100-KWN3 | OS's: Window 7 Professional x64, Kali Linux 1.0.9 | Display: Dell 24-inch HD, Samsung 24-inch HD
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 06:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

That's what I was trying to do earlier today... That is a Vista x64 machine and I couldn't see an option anywhere to do that
__________________

fonebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 06:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

The BIOS, by the way, is the original BIOS... there is one more available but it is only a beta.. no thanks.
fonebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 06:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

Hm.. Have you tried plugging it in without the primary drive? Have you done that and put it in IDE mode instead of AHCI?

I will be gone for a bit, but let me know how it went, hopefully if that doesn't work Carnage can shed some new light on the situation
__________________
Under_Score
------------------------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz | Cooling: Just Fans | Motherboard: BioStar Tz68K+ | RAM: Cosair Vengeance16GB (4X4GB) DDR3 @ 1600MHz | Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 560 TI | HDD: 1 TB Western Digital (want SSD for OS) | Sound: On-Board sound | PSU: CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W | Case: Cooler Master CM Storm Scout SGC-2100-KWN3 | OS's: Window 7 Professional x64, Kali Linux 1.0.9 | Display: Dell 24-inch HD, Samsung 24-inch HD
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 07:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

Ah, ding dong... good idea. I've unplugged the primary, I'm going to install Windows 7 on the secondary and it should format it in the installation... I can then re-format it at my leisure....... in theory
fonebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 08:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

Right boys, we're in... up to a point...

I have now got both disks in the computer with Windows 7 booting from the main 1TB hardrive. In the Disk Management Console they are, at last, BOTH visible:

Disk 0
Basic
931.39 GB
Online

Disk 1
Basic
237.76 GB
Online

CD-ROM 0
DVD
No Media


Now then, at the beginning of BOTH hard drives there is a 100 MB Healthy (EFI System Partition)... So..

Question: Can I now simply format the 232.66 GB Primary Partition on the 250 GB disk..? The r/click option to 'Format' is there, indeed I can Format it, Shrink it, Delete it... And, if so, what is then going to happen to the 100 MB EFI System Partition at the beginning of that drive that currently has no useable r/click options?

This is not boring... I certainly had to fiddle and tweak around the BIOS to even get it to boot into the 1TB drive where I am now... It's a bit like walking the plank...
fonebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 09:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 16
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

.. A Very Big Bingo... I sat and stared at the screen for a while and then gave it a quick format... Windows Explorer is now how I always wanted it... It boots up just fine and the BIOS has changed all of the parameters back to how they were before I started this earlier today..! I don't know how that happened, makes saving BIOS Profiles a bit daft when it just goes and loads the profile it thinks you might like... Anyway, thanks to the good people over at Gigabyte, I suppose... I still have a 100MB EFI System Partition at the beginning of each drive but what the hell, what's a 100 MB at 2 o'clock in the morning..?

Thanks fellas, couldn't have done it without you.
fonebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2015, 12:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: Windows 7 still can't find the second hard drive...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonebone View Post
.. A Very Big Bingo... I sat and stared at the screen for a while and then gave it a quick format... Windows Explorer is now how I always wanted it... It boots up just fine and the BIOS has changed all of the parameters back to how they were before I started this earlier today..! I don't know how that happened, makes saving BIOS Profiles a bit daft when it just goes and loads the profile it thinks you might like... Anyway, thanks to the good people over at Gigabyte, I suppose... I still have a 100MB EFI System Partition at the beginning of each drive but what the hell, what's a 100 MB at 2 o'clock in the morning..?

Thanks fellas, couldn't have done it without you.
Anytime man! I'm glad it worked out for you!
__________________

__________________
Under_Score
------------------------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz | Cooling: Just Fans | Motherboard: BioStar Tz68K+ | RAM: Cosair Vengeance16GB (4X4GB) DDR3 @ 1600MHz | Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 560 TI | HDD: 1 TB Western Digital (want SSD for OS) | Sound: On-Board sound | PSU: CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W | Case: Cooler Master CM Storm Scout SGC-2100-KWN3 | OS's: Window 7 Professional x64, Kali Linux 1.0.9 | Display: Dell 24-inch HD, Samsung 24-inch HD
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8 install can't find my hard drive ChuckTesta Microsoft Windows and Software 41 08-28-2013 04:03 PM
Can I still use my hard drive? EnishiSG Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-01-2008 12:49 PM
windows can't find my hard drive plowman123 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 12-28-2004 02:50 PM
can't find my second hd mono11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 12-22-2003 10:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.