Windows 2000 pro install not able to find SCSI HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Yial
Default Windows 2000 pro install not able to find SCSI HD

Okay, during install of windows 2000 pro it says it can't find my HD, even though the install is BOOTING of the HD, I've tried running the instal from both a CD and the HD, I have a SCSI HD @ 10,000 RPM.
__________________

Yial is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

did you load the drivers for the scsi card ?
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to ibelous
Default

when setup first initializes it asks you to hit a key to load drivers for scsi and third party hardware, make sure you do that.... keep your eye on the messages at the bottom of your screen during the first part of installation
ibelous is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 11:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Yial
Default

I know that, I need drivers, I didn't get any....
Yial is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

You need to put em on a floppy.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Yial
Default

Yes, I know. I simply don't have the driver files in any form. The one guy on HP reccomended I try to use the ones for EXTERNAL drives even though mine is an INTERNAL. I know how to use the files, I just can't find them. Anywhere.
Yial is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

BAH HP, post your model # and make of the scsi board. we will find them for you.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 06:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Yial
Default

Thanks, but I finally got them...the external drivers work for the internal too? :P well, i got it installed with them anyway... Just need the drivers for my sound card now...
__________________

Yial is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.