Win XP setup errors I'm getting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2009, 03:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

reread orig post:

Do you wish to recover any of the data that was on your hdd's, or do you just wish to repartition your drives?


check ram/ide cables. Does it take varying amounts of time to post? turn off bios logo and watch ram amounts, timings, cpu speed, hdd model number, number of drives reported, etc.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-21-2009, 01:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

I'm not worried about stuff on the drive. I have tried parted magic 4.4 and I it see's all my drives. When I tested my boot drive it reboots at 70 or 80% of the test happened twice.

HD:

Boot: 74 GB Sata 1 boot drive
Storage: 250 GB Sata 1
Storage: 250 GB Sata 1
Storage: 250 GB Sata 1
MB: giga-byte 925xe Daenxp
Windows XP Pro SP 2

The way my computer is setup right now with parted magic is

74 GB hd is Primary Partition
250 GB is Extended Partition in NTFS
250 GB is Extended Partition in NTFS
250 GB is Extended Partition in NTFS


Windows only see's the three storage drives.
__________________

lafguy81 is offline  
Old 08-21-2009, 01:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

sounds like the drive is either not configured properly, it might have a faulty data cable, or might be failing in general.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 08:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

I removed all HD's from computer except boot drive. Even though Spotmau see's it and everything windows setup does not. So What I need is a floppy start up disk so I can FDISK and partition it that way. So then Windows will see drive and install it from there.

Any ideas what files I need from XP Pro SP 2 to achieve this boot
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 08-29-2009, 05:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

Is that one drive Sata? The boot drive is what I am referring to lol


Sorry if MSG short but this is the first time I have ever posted from my iTouch
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-29-2009, 01:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

Yes the boot drive is a WD 74 GIG Sata 150 hd. It shows channel 0 on bios when it boots but, when I use Spotmau software even having it set to primary it shows 74 gig hd as disk 3 not disk 0 like bios has it. Shouldn't the boot disk be disk 0 in a partition and other 3 storage HD's be disk 1,2,3
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 12:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

Are the other hard drives SATA? if so do they show up in the xp setup screen?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 01:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

Yeah the other 3 Sata drives show up unpartitioned in windows setup screen. If you click on create partition it goes to next screen but, it cursor freezes and I can't proceed.

Does the boot drive have to be channel 0 or can it boot from any channel in bios?

Note: The three Sata HD's that windows see's are in rem hot swap in my front bays of my tower below my dvd rw.

I figure if sata cord or sata slot on mb failed it would not show it at all when turning on computer bios part before windows correct.

So only way bios see's it and windows doesn't is a HD with bad sectors on it correct?

Maybe I'll try windows 7 when its released and see if it corrects my issues. Isn't 7 supposed to have utilities to fix hard drive issues like i'm having.
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 08:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

ok well your sata chipset is supported, have you tried using a different sata cable yet?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 11:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Win XP setup errors I'm getting

No I have not tried a new sata cable
__________________

lafguy81 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Games Working With Windows 7 Ulquiorra Schiffer PC Gaming 10 06-21-2009 04:31 AM
Make Win Setup-Disk that also installs applications during setup Xenesis Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-26-2009 06:39 PM
Decoding STOP Errors KSoD Official TF Tutorials 0 12-06-2008 11:06 PM
Win XP Setup Boot Disk Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-17-2008 12:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.