Will not install Windows - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2007, 08:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Will not install Windows

Is it possible you have a bad IDE cable or have one of the ends reversed?
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 03:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Robrein
Default Re: Will not install Windows

I don't know about the IDE cables but I know that the Optical drive works just fine for the simple fact that the one I am using is pulled from a working machine, and the fact that I have tried around 7 drives of varying types (i.e. DVD, CD, CD-RW, DVD-CD-RW, so on and so forth). I just finished the bios wipe method that was suggested earlier. I am working on another comp that I just got up and running. When I am done checking that one out I will repost on the findings on the other comp that I am having problems with.
__________________

Robrein is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 04:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Will not install Windows

If BIOS finds the CD drive and the H/D then it isn't the cables. If your BIOS is set to boot from CD first and it still won't go, then I would look at the CD drive or the disc itself even though you tested them as working. Also have you run Memtest on your RAM?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 06:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Robrein
Default Re: Will not install Windows

The ram has been tested and comes out as good and the bios shows the ram for what it is. I am really confused on this **** comp. No matter what I do and how well your advice is, nothing seems to work. This is the second comp I have attempted to build and I am running out of Metallic spray paint. I am so very frustrated with this thing but they are counting on me to get it done. Thank you all for all of your help.
__________________

Robrein is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Can't Install Windows to Hard Drive waytoosmall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-19-2007 04:20 PM
URGENT HELP! Post Windows Install Keeps Deleting My Partitions datahead Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-12-2007 09:57 AM
Help, cannot install windows vista pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-06-2007 12:38 PM
Mac OSX style Windows Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-06-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.