Will I notice a Huge General Performance Drop Between Nforce3 and a Via Chipset? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What do you celebrate?
Christmas 15 83.33%
Hanukah 0 0%
Festivus (for the rest of us) 1 5.56%
Other 0 0%
None 2 11.11%
Voters: 18. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 04:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default Will I notice a Huge General Performance Drop Between Nforce3 and a Via Chipset?

Appearntly Nvidia F'd up. and the 6800 Series are completely Incompatable with the Nforce3.. Causes stuttering/lag issues in game NO FIX YET (known for a year or more)

anyhow I really don't wanna pull a board out of my water cooled system and spend another 100 bucks.. Unless there will be relatively little performance differance.. Never used any of Via's products so...
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Also What Board would you people reccomend that is socket 754 and has a via chipset. for gaming.


I allready have AGPFW disabled Btw.. but it lags every now and then still.. Can screw up some games.
__________________

kiyotaka is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Before you go and buy some new stuff, there is a couple other things you can do to try and prevent the stuttering that is common with NF3 boards and 6XXX vid cards. Have a look here:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=4758&st=0

But, to answer your original question, perhaps, this mobo would be good for you. It uses the VIA chipset and meets your other requirements. I cant give you a personal review on this mobo, as I have not used it myself. I can tell you that MSI has a pretty good reputation, and I dont forsee you having any problems with it.

Previously, I never knew about the NF3/6XXX incompatibility. If I had, I might have gone with a X800XL originally. But, I havent had any problems. Perhaps the newer releases of the 6XXX cards and NF3 mobos have the problem resolved, as I have built my system fairly recently.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 03:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

tried all the things on the forum.. it only surpresses the problem.. not fixes
kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.