Why won't my system boot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2008, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Why won't my system boot?

So I installed the 24 pin and the the ATX 4 pin.

Preety sure I got everything connected, and when I press the Power button, the motherboard lights up for less than 1 sec. The fans Don't even have time to react.

Anyone know what can possibly be wrong? Only thing I actually have a doubt is the motherboard did not had those brass thingies which most cases come with. Neither did I used any washers or whatever their called.

Could that be causing the problem? I know the motherboard works and PSU, because I tried it on my alienware case.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Why won't my system boot?

So the motherboard is just screwed down onto the case? Yes, that would be your problem then, because you're shorting out your motherboard (the contacts on the backa re not supposed to contact metal). Get some brass standoffs. If you want to make sure everything does actually work, take everything out of the case, and lay it on a table and try to boot. if everything boots up fine, then you'll know its the case.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 03:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Why won't my system boot?

Dang so did actually damaged it? cause I tried powering up a couple of times.

Also on the PSU O means off and I means on?

My case only came with 3 or 4 brass thingies so I guessed they were optional.
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Why won't my system boot?

Shouldn't have damaged it. That's why I said try taking everything out, setting it on a table, and powering it up to see if that works or not.

Yes, O = off, and I = on.

No, they're not optional.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Why won't my system boot?

Definately didn't damage the motherboard, the reason it shuts off automatically is to prevent damage, otherwise there would be multiple short circuits, and completely destroy the board.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 06:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: Why won't my system boot?

Sweet, feel so much better now.

Thanks guys. (this is my 2 build now) in less than a month
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Why won't my system boot?

No problem.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual boot with system commander mhbaldwin Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-04-2008 01:12 PM
Dual boot system Celticsfan Microsoft Windows and Software 15 04-05-2008 02:49 AM
New Build System Boot Linux/Windows... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-31-2007 02:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.