why is my CPU in a giant black box? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2012, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Question why is my CPU in a giant black box?

Hi I'm wondering about a computer part this is the closest forum to ask about it.

Hi I just got a refurbished HP Compaq Business Desktop DC7800 (GC758AV). Opening it up I see this giant glossy black box attached to the mother board which I assume is the CPU. It's an Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz. The thing is my last new PC (which I fried) has a more powerful CPU (duo 2.5) but looked much smaller with no giant box over it. I wondering what's all in there and if that is like an earlier version of the dual core CPU's. And what's with the giant enclosure? I took a photo but can't post attachments here.

I Especially want to know the disadvantages of an older big CPU in a box like that?
Would it be a good idea to unscrew this monster and replace it with a newer smaller CPU of simillar power?

I wonder because the CPU box has it's own fan the size of the PSU fan, and the Case had an extra cooling fan. I'm just wondering if the earlier dual core ran hotter and the current ones wouldn't run as hot.

Thanks Ryan.
__________________

ryan7777 is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,076
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

That looks like a fan duct to direct the air over the heatsink. Dell used a design like that too on some of their desk top pc's also. you can use this .pdf to see the view of your separate parts (page 2)
http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bc/.../c01155679.pdf
__________________

Joe C is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

The black plastic thing is for airflow control
The disadvantages of it being an older processor: doesn't run as cool, which is why that black thing is there.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan7777 View Post
Hi I'm wondering about a computer part this is the closest forum to ask about it.

Hi I just got a refurbished HP Compaq Business Desktop DC7800 (GC758AV). Opening it up I see this giant glossy black box attached to the mother board which I assume is the CPU. It's an Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33GHz. The thing is my last new PC (which I fried) has a more powerful CPU (duo 2.5) but looked much smaller with no giant box over it. I wondering what's all in there and if that is like an earlier version of the dual core CPU's. And what's with the giant enclosure? I took a photo but can't post attachments here.

I Especially want to know the disadvantages of an older big CPU in a box like that?
Would it be a good idea to unscrew this monster and replace it with a newer smaller CPU of simillar power?

I wonder because the CPU box has it's own fan the size of the PSU fan, and the Case had an extra cooling fan. I'm just wondering if the earlier dual core ran hotter and the current ones wouldn't run as hot.

Thanks Ryan.
That big black glossy plastic thing maybe in exhaust to make air flow away from the cpu outside of the back of the case.
Have you tried to turn it on and see what happens, also that cpu is abit slow than Q07 cpus.
Depending on what model motherboard you give me it maybe upgradable but you would a good compact heatsink with grease to keep cool on your new future cpu.

A core2quad maybe optional but I would need to look at some information before making that call to upgrade.

^Blast you fargle!! beat me to the post ;_;
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-Techno-Thug View Post
That big black glossy plastic thing maybe in exhaust to make air flow away from the cpu outside of the back of the case.
Have you tried to turn it on and see what happens, also that cpu is abit slow than Q07 cpus.
Depending on what model motherboard you give me it maybe upgradable but you would a good compact heatsink with grease to keep cool on your new future cpu.

A core2quad maybe optional but I would need to look at some information before making that call to upgrade.

^Blast you fargle!! beat me to the post ;_;

@iFargle...so that mean it IS an older processor then? 'Cause I'm looking for confirmation that this is an older giant heat tank CPU or are these totally normal
and I'm over-reacting.

@Mike Techno Thug. I don't know what my mother board is I just know I got a*
*HP Compaq Business Desktop DC7800 (GC758AV). It didn't come with documentation. (am posting on another PC right now and will run a spec program on the Pc I'm talking about tommorow when I have access, if ur still around)
But like I said I don't want a more powerful CPU like a quad, just wondering about the same power only more currently made with a better heat sink if you think that makes sense, 'cause I'm just guessing.

Also, do you think I got ripped off if I paid $250 for this PC? 'Cause looking at this giant thing (with 2 extra fans it's so huge) I'm sort of looking for a reason to ask to return it. Unless you guys think it's not as old as it looks!

Thanks again.
ryan7777 is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 03:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

You should always ask how old a PC is before buying a second hand one lol
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 08:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Punjab
Posts: 6
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

Bro It Is use For Control Temp Of CPU... I Think This Box Control The Air Flow Of Fan Of CPU
SINGH is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

@mike
Mother board data from Speccy. Don't know if this too much.

Motherboard
Manufacturer Hewlett-Packard
Model 0AACh (XU1 PROCESSOR)
Chipset Vendor Intel
Chipset Model Q35
Chipset Revision A2
Southbridge Vendor Intel
Southbridge Model 82801IO (ICH9DO)
Southbridge Revision 02
System Temperature 51 C
BIOS
Brand Hewlett-Packard
Version 786F1 v01.32
Date 07/21/2011
PCI Data
Slot PCI
Slot Type PCI
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width 32 bit
Slot Designation PCI1
Slot Number 0
Slot PCI
Slot Type PCI
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width 32 bit
Slot Designation PCI2
Slot Number 1
Slot PCI
Slot Type PCI
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width 32 bit
Slot Designation PCI3
Slot Number 2
Slot PCI-E
Slot Type PCI-E
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width Unknown
Slot Designation PCI EXPRESS x1 SLOT 1 (PCIEx1 1)
Slot Number 3
Slot PCI-E
Slot Type PCI-E
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width Unknown
Slot Designation PCI EXPRESS x1 SLOT 2 (PCIEx1 2)
Slot Number 4
Slot PCI-E
Slot Type PCI-E
Slot Usage Available
Bus Width Unknown
Slot Designation PCI EXPRESS x16 SLOT (PCIEx16)
Slot Number 5
Graphics
Monitor
Name Acer AL1913 on Intel Q35 Express Chipset Family (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM 1.0)
Current Resolution 683x512 pixels
Work Resolution 683x475 pixels
State enabled, primary, output devices support
Monitor Width 1024
Monitor Height 768
Monitor BPP 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Frequency 75 Hz
Device \\.\DISPLAY1\Monitor0
Intel(R) Q35 Express Chipset Family (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM 1.0)
Memory 256 MB
Memory type 2
Driver version 8.15.10.1749
OpenGL
Version 1.1.0
Vendor Microsoft Corporation
Renderer GDI Generic
GLU Version 1.2.2.0 Microsoft Corporation
Values
GL_MAX_LIGHTS 8
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_SIZE 1024
GL_MAX_TEXTURE_STACK_DEPTH 10
GL Extensions
GL_WIN_swap_hint
GL_EXT_bgra
GL_EXT_paletted_texture
GL_EXT_bgra

Wouldn't want to put a more powerful CPU, just somwthing of comparable power (duo around the 2mhz area) that runs less hot if it's newer than the older original, if that's how that works. 'Cause I'm just guessing here.
ryan7777 is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 06:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

You realize speed mesands little when vcomparing cpu's.

Intel made 3 different types of dual cores back then. Unless you can tell us the old model number, theres no way of telling which is better.

For the record, the only c2d at 2.5Ghz was a 1066mhz fsb and 3mb of cache. The E6550 is 1333mhz and 4mb cache... Even worse was a e5200 at 800mhz fsb.... ALL AT THE SAME TDP OF 65W.

Too me, the "Big box" cooler is ALOT better than the oem model.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-21-2012, 04:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: why is my CPU in a giant black box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SINGH View Post
Bro It Is use For Control Temp Of CPU... I Think This Box Control The Air Flow Of Fan Of CPU
Don't use bro use his/her name
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OEM Vs. Retail Box CPU arcticap New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-26-2008 01:07 AM
Open box Gigabyte Aurora 570 (Black) Cheap aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 03-30-2008 03:30 PM
Crazy black box Radeon Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-25-2008 04:06 AM
Valve have cancelled the black box? cdcmoon PC Gaming 1 08-16-2007 06:54 AM
little black box kenz6000 Off Topic Discussion 9 07-28-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.