Why must I always press F1 during boot up? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2007, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Why must I always press F1 during boot up?

I have the Phoenix Award Workstation BIOS with my motherboard. When i boot up, I have to always manually press F1 to continue with loading of the OS. I cannot find a setting in BIOS to skip this. Anybody have any suggestions? Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Why must I always press F1 during boot up?

in bios, go to (i think, i cant remember off hand) CMOS set up or BIOS set up or something like that, and there is a setting for what sort of floppy disc drive you have (it probably says 1.44).
set that to "none", and it should take care of it.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Why must I always press F1 during boot up?

In the CMOS setup, there should be a setting that says "halt on:" which you can set to "no errors"
if you do that, you won't have to press F1

what does the BIOS actually say when it tells you to press F1, anyway?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Why must I always press F1 during boot up?

okay i checked and in my bios, which is probably the same as yours, it is CMOS setup > drive a > 1.44M 3.5in (this needs to be set to "none").
apokalipse may be right as well, but i have it set to halt > all, except keyboard and i dont have to press F1.
if that drive a is not changed, i do.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Why must I always press F1 during boot up?

I did a google search prior to first posting and found another suggestion to find the halt on, but did not have that in my BIOS. I did find the floppy setting and changed it to 'none' which did the trick. Thanks for the quick replies!
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Multiple boot J9Darkwing Linux and Open Source 4 11-18-2007 04:55 PM
connecting two computers Jamie-Kane Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 10-18-2007 08:50 PM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Windows boot nightmare. squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-06-2007 12:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.