Why can't I run a CHKDSK? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2006, 07:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default Why can't I run a CHKDSK?

When a schedule a CHKDSK to run on my computer and restart it, the CHKDSK doesn't run and it tell me there was a problem accessing my drive. Also when i try to run a boot time defragment with perfect disk it doesnt run either and tells me my drive is "dirty" WTF?

What could be causing these problems?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to a command prompt and type "chkdsk /r"
*edit*
never mind, it tells me to restart

*edit*
try using the "/x" switch

or you could even try doing the chkdsk in the recovery console of the XP disc
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

how do i do that?

sorry im a noob
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

use "chkdsk /x /r" in a command prompt (start, run, "cmd")
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 10:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

ok tired that, same problem. Something about not getting access to the drive

how can i run a CHKDSK with the boot CD?
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

boot from the XP CD, and after it has loaded, at the first screen press R
then type the admin password (blank unless somebody has set it to something else)
then type "chkdsk /r"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 10:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

ok thanks ill try that now
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 01:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

yep that did the trick, thanks alot
__________________

__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.