Where's my RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default Where's my RAM?

I've installed 4 x 1GB DDR3200 RAM onto my mobo.

When WinXP Media Centre Edition boots up, Windows only reports 2.87GB RAM installed?!?!?

Checked in BIOS which confirms that each of the RAM Slots has 1GB present???

Please help.............
__________________

lunatech is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 08:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 66
Default

right click on "my computer" goto properties. look at how much RAM windows is showing that your system has. If it's not showing 4GB than there is probably still something not set right in the BIOS,

i would check everything really carefully
__________________

__________________
AMD Duron 1.5
512MB DDR
10/100/1000 Mps LAN
Windows 2000 Server
Windows XP Corp. Pro.
nVIDIA Geforce 6200a 512MB
Mr Wizard is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 08:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

normal XP supports 4GB RAM, I don't think media centre should be much different.
which part of Windows is reporting 2.87GB? the task manager, properties of "My Computer" or another 3rd party program?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Did you check your motherboard manual so you know forsure your motherboard can handle that much/type of ram?

On the RAM count does it go up to 4 gb?
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Most motherboard don't like all 4 slots full.. Especially with double sided ram.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah, it can be the memory controller. if it's a Pentium 4 system the memory controller is on the motherboard, if it's an Athlon 64 system it's on the CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

could it be that you have an insane amount of ram shared with gfx?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think onboard graphcs memory goes over 256MB, although you wouldn't even normally use that.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 12:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol thats why i said insane. i don't think it would be possible, yet in a far out way it is.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Cheers All for the responses but Windows Properties (My Computer) states 2.87GB
whilst the mobo (which supports 4GB) states that each of the 4 slots has 1GB.

What/where is the memory controller?

I haven't set anything up for physical memory sharing with the GFX card......

Thanks in advance

Lunatech
__________________

lunatech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.