Where I am.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flanker

Banned
I have my new PC built up. I turned it on and went through the BIOS and CMOS and stuff. I have the Power Cable Connected to my SATA HDD but the computer still won't recognize it. I need help with that. Also, what do I do after this? What steps do I take? When should I start installing the OS? Sorry, this is my first time building a PC from scratch. I just want to learn all this now so that I don't have to go through all of it later.

Usually the SATA stuff is disabled by default on boards I've used. You would need to find anything in the BIOS setup screens regarding SATA.

For instance, for me, I had to go in there on my P4 system and tell it that SATA1 was Primary Master, and SATA2 was Primary Slave. Of course, if you do this, you can't also have a HDD plugged in on the IDE bus marked as Primary Master or Slave. If you just have the one SATA drive though, its no big deal.

you need the driver for your SATA harddrive, when you're about to install 2000 or XP it will ask for you to press a key to install a third party raid driver. It should come in a floopy disk and make sure you select the right driver, it would usually indicate you to install one that is compatible with your chipset and OS. If you don't have one just go to the maufacture website, I'm sure they will provide you one to download.

Make sure to check your SATA connection, that it is in the primary connector, usually indicated by SATA0

Yeah you definately need the driver, your board should come with a sata driver , maybe on a floppy. And the SATA settings in bios should already be enabled out of the box I don't know what kind of boards TheHeadFL has used but ABIT, GIGABYTE, and MSI that I know of make you turn all of that off if your not using it.