Where I am. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2005, 03:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Where I am.

I have my new PC built up. I turned it on and went through the BIOS and CMOS and stuff. I have the Power Cable Connected to my SATA HDD but the computer still won't recognize it. I need help with that. Also, what do I do after this? What steps do I take? When should I start installing the OS? Sorry, this is my first time building a PC from scratch. I just want to learn all this now so that I don't have to go through all of it later.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Usually the SATA stuff is disabled by default on boards I've used. You would need to find anything in the BIOS setup screens regarding SATA.

For instance, for me, I had to go in there on my P4 system and tell it that SATA1 was Primary Master, and SATA2 was Primary Slave. Of course, if you do this, you can't also have a HDD plugged in on the IDE bus marked as Primary Master or Slave. If you just have the one SATA drive though, its no big deal.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

you need the driver for your SATA harddrive, when you're about to install 2000 or XP it will ask for you to press a key to install a third party raid driver. It should come in a floopy disk and make sure you select the right driver, it would usually indicate you to install one that is compatible with your chipset and OS. If you don't have one just go to the maufacture website, I'm sure they will provide you one to download.

Make sure to check your SATA connection, that it is in the primary connector, usually indicated by SATA0
Law is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

Yeah you definately need the driver, your board should come with a sata driver , maybe on a floppy. And the SATA settings in bios should already be enabled out of the box I don't know what kind of boards TheHeadFL has used but ABIT, GIGABYTE, and MSI that I know of make you turn all of that off if your not using it.
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yes, there came a floppy disk with the drivers on it. My mobo is a Abit AV8 (as in my sig). Another person said that when I insert the OS installation CD into my drive, thats when I will be prompted to press "F6" and install SCSI drivers. The HDD isn't a SCSI drive, but I don't know if that makes any difference.

My other question is, how can I start installing a OS when I don't have a recognized HDD to install it on?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 07:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

By the way, it may not recognize those Abit Drivers. A few months ago when I installed my SATA Drive on my Abit KV8 Pro, I tried popping the disk in that came with the mobo, and it still didn't recognize the disk as raid drivers. If you don't get it to work, go to Abit's site and download the newest version of the drivers, and put them on a disk to boot off.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It's not gonna get recognized until you install that driver. So pop in your CD and press F6. Make sure you select the driver that reference your chipset and OS. Afterward install the OS, if you get to the point when it ask to select which partition to format or delete etc than thats a good sign.
Law is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

bro SATA is a type of SCSI drive. do what the other guys told you to and you should be fine. id make my own sata disk if i was you. they should have a utility on the cd that came with your mobo.
Mionics is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 02:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

These are what I got from the CD that came with my Mobo. It has drivers on it, among other things. I also got a floppy disk with the mobo with SATA drivers on it. This is a pic on the inside of the SATA drivers folder on the CD.



But that folder is 6MB+, thus too big to put on a floppy, thus I went into another folder, which I suspect is the correct one.



Confirmation please?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 02:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

you gotta use the sata driver that came in the floopy. I think those file on your CD are backup driver and other driver for your motherboard.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.