What's the -5v on a computer PSU used for? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2007, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Default What's the -5v on a computer PSU used for?

I have a HP Pavilion XL866 computer that has (I'm pretty sure) a dead PSU.

I'm attaching a picture of the label from the bad PSU so you can see the voltages and the amps.....and the model number in case you happen to know where I can find a replacement.

This computer was purchased in Feb 2000 and the LiteOn PSU that's in it came with it. The computer is dead, it does absolutely nothing. No lights, no buzzing, no fans, not a sound.

I would appreciate someone telling me what the -5V output is used for since most of the replacement ones I've looked at don't have the -5V output....they have the -12V but not the -5V.

If I knew what the -5v output did I might not be concerned too much about trying to find one that has it.

Personally I think it's important but I don't know that much about computer PSU's.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscn2500 (small).jpg (45.9 KB, 48 views)
__________________

Burnselk is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

5V is used for DVD Drives, Hard Drives etc
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Default

I found out the -5v output from a PSU is for ISA......and since ISA is not used much these days, that's why it's no longer a concern for most PSU manufacturers.
Burnselk is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 02:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Does that seriously say 4A on the 12V rail?!


...No wonder it doesn't work...
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Default

Sure does, I tried to attach a photo of the label on the PSU but the attachment feature didn't work for me.

Look in the previous posts....I included a photo of the PSU label. It has the voltages and amps....and the model LiteOn PS-6161-2H1.
Burnselk is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

What Crazed means is that the PSU has low wattage.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 12:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by peterhuang913
What Crazed means is that the PSU has low wattage.
No, what CrazeD means is that the PSU has low amperage.

4A is HORRIBLE!
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 09:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Default

Help, my old PSU in my HP Pavilion XL866 has a 4Pin "Video Power Connector" (shaped like a speaker connector.....in-line pins; not the square 4 pin cpu connector).

I took the PSU out and now I can't figure out where this P8 connector goes......anyone know? I didn't mark them as I should have. Thought it would be easy. Was I fooled.

The P* lead is called a "4Pin Video Power Connector"....that's about all I know.
__________________

Burnselk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.