What is wrong with my 7800 gtx...:( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default What is wrong with my 7800 gtx...:(

ok i was playing fear the other day and i noticed that it wasnt running as smooth as it was before, so i did a video test. my numbers have dropped ALOT! before i was getting 58 minimum, 100 avg and 112 max with max computer and high graphics. now i get 17 minimum, 57 avg, and 78 max. i have tried lowering the graphics to medium and the results change about 4 fps each. why is my card suddenly being crap? i have tried drivers 81.85 which are the latest out and the beta 81.87 with no boost. i was using the 81.85 before.

ok now ive tried 78.01 too and that sucks as well.
__________________

__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

RMA the card.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 07:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

seems like the drivers for the 7xxx series are just ****ty all around...I keep hearing people with 7xxx series cards and even in SLI that aren't getting the performance they should
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

hmm well like i said it was fine just a few days ago so i know its not the drivers im pretty sure so i probly have to rma the card
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it's cause you went with XFX
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

meh its still a great card and im sure it will be fine

dam this will suck...no computer while i rma this card
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

The Video card industry is so freaked up these days. It doesn't matter if it's NVIDIA or ATI. They both are screwed up. You pay $500+ or $1000+ for SLI (High-end cards) and you don't even get what is advertised. Check out his article I found. Believe or not, it's up to you.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=27084

"AA does not work with enabled HDR, so this result can be compared with the results of other cards only in terms of the choice "HDR+AF or AA+AF?" When HDR is activated together with AF, you can clearly see that the GF7800GTX demonstrates performance on the level with the GF6800GT with AA and AF."~ www.digit-life.com or http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/...*70-part3.html

Dude. That freaking sucks. Seriously. Spend a lot of money for a new high-end card that doesn't enable all the highest settings? Are you kidding me? I've read this a few times before. But the more I read it, it's got to be true.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 464
Send a message via AIM to Charbo Send a message via Yahoo to Charbo
Default

hmm interesting read thanks...
also any way to tell if my card is messed up besides fear?
__________________
Charbo is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 07:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

First off: What settings are you running F.E.A.R. on? Be warned that this game is incredibly hardware demanding if you're using ridiculous settings- yes, even for dual 7800 GTX's.

Secondly, are you using a single GTX or SLI? Going by you're sig, you're only ruinning on one card, but correct me if I'm wrong.

Last off, F.E.A.R. is badly optomised. A lot of people with very different hardware are experiencing poor/strange performance issues. Couple that with dodgy driver support

As a side note, I get around 60 FPS (30 FPS minimum, 120 FPS max) in the built-in benchmark w/ the following settings: 1280*1024, 4xAA, 16xAF, Vsync OFF, Soft Shadows OFF, all other settings maxed out.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 07:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Interesting link indeed havoc...that craps crazy...soooo basically both Nvidia and ATI are lying about something is what I gathered from that....how lame. I was gonna download that program, but sheeesh, 36 hours per test, no thanks
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.