What Size PS do I need ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2007, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question What Size PS do I need ?

Can someone point me to a chart/graph or whatever that indicates the proper power supply size requirements for different PC setups ??

I have a desktop running an AMD XP 2000+ and the normal add ons (CDRW, Floppy, case fan, CPU fan, HD etc...)

It has a 350W PS that just blew out. I added a (2) Internal USB cards (8-ports total) not long ago and I believe I may have over tasked the PS.

What size PS do I need ?
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: What Size PS do I need ?

The additional usb controllers simply revealed a weakness in the 350w supply there. A good 430w Antec or 420w by another good brand will easily power the system there. newegg is having a Thanksgiving special on the Antec Earthwatts 430w model seen at Newegg.com - Antec earthwatts EA430 ATX12V v2.0 430W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, FCC, TUV, CE, CB, C-tick, CCC - Retail

Besides price range one thing you may want to look at is the eventual upgrade to a newer build where you will want a heavier supply there. That's when the price will climb up from about $70-$8 to the $140 range depending on make and model.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: What Size PS do I need ?

My HP Pavilion originally had a 200W PSU. Originally, it had an AthlonXP 2600+, nVidia GeForce4 MX420, hard drive, CD-RW, DVD-ROM, and floppy drives, and case fan and CPU fan. I would think 350W would be plenty for your setup, maybe the PSU was just cheap or old.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: What Size PS do I need ?

I agree with that but a little larger one if it's on sale would be a good idea for future use.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: What Size PS do I need ?

With the prebuilt systems like even seen with the new HP models you will find a 301w supply often used in those. People are always asking about what larger supply they can use for the new DX10 compatible cards now seen like the NVidia driven 8600s and 8800s as well as the ATI driven HD 2900s.

The minimum seen for the new higher end cards is roughly 450w. For SLI or Crossfire setups then you are starting off in the 600-700w range. While moving from one case to the new build I went from an Antec TP2 550w model into the OCZ GameXStresm 700w model while not necessarily needed for the drives and mid range card used allows for further expansion.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 11-23-2007, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: What Size PS do I need ?

I currently have a 500W in my HP (replaced the 200W when I got my Radeon board) and when I was planning my Compaq replacement build, I got a $13 300W PSU because I needed something that A: fit the case and B: had a 12V CPU power connector. It was cheap and it did the job.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: What Size PS do I need ?

Consider yourself fortunate if it lasted more then two weeks there. I once made the mistake of ordering a case with supply included. It didn't quite make the 14day mark. Apparently that was also a cheap generic supply then.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive cache size question? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-09-2007 09:10 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
How to change the size of the database in oracle biz_me Programming 0 07-25-2007 12:38 PM
Another Hijack Log boo HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-26-2007 12:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.