What piece of hardware do I need to replace? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2009, 09:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

Unscrewed the screws, unplugged the wires and took it off. The new one was a snap on tho so i had to take the little black pieces of the back and then it just snapped on.
__________________

copelandtml is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 11:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

I have the side off right now and have a whole crap load of things running and it won't shut off? Im confused, no clue why this is.
__________________

copelandtml is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 05:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

Then i guess you fixed your issue, ether a underpowered fan or a defective fan. Also the metal block your cpu fan fits onto is the heatsink, thats what takes away most of the heat from your cpu & then the fan cools the heatsink down so it can keep drawing out more heat.
VsUK81 is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 09:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

Would you suggest just leaving the side off then? I hard that wasn't a good idea, it gathers more dust inside that way?
copelandtml is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 09:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

No i wouldn't suggest it.

Youre issue seems to be heat.., You did replug the fan in, right?

Umm, can you post a pic.. grab it off the net, of the new fan? It'll help alot.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

PA140339.jpg picture by copelandtml - Photobucket
copelandtml is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 06:40 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

Also it was suggested that i getanother stick of 512 memory, what would that improve and who would i go about installing that?
copelandtml is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 09:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

When you put that on, it went flat against the cpu right?

Was there white paste on the bottom?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

white paste on the bottom of the fan?? if so no..
copelandtml is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 06:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: What piece of hardware do I need to replace?

yea you need thermal compound or it doesn't make a good connection...so the heat doesn't transfer ..and it over heats
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which piece of Hardware is the problem? Xross Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 07-13-2009 02:04 AM
A piece of hardware im looking for... Dasanator Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-26-2009 04:03 PM
Got an old piece of Gigabyte hardware? b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 10-30-2007 04:24 AM
MAJOR Hardware Issue. Please help Patchiz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-15-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.