what is ntldr and hal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 12:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Question what is ntldr and hal

what is ntldr why is it used and what it hal and why is it used..

and for network instalation what file is used...

and can we copy ntldr from a floppy in case ntldr is missin..

kindly asist

thnx
__________________

akarsh2 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 12:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

NTLDR is what is used to load your operating system: Windows XP. If you boot your machine and it says it's missing NTLDR, that means you must re-install Windows. I've seen it a million times.
__________________

__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default

and for network instalation what file is used...

and can we copy ntldr from a floppy in case ntldr is missin..
akarsh2 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 01:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 24
Default

NTLDR Missing you most likley will not be able to install it using floppy disk but HAL.dll you can install from a floppy
Locutus is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 08:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

HAL refers to the hardware abstraction layer. Basically it's drivers.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.